Tuesday, 1 September 2020

2020 #15 Each Day a Day Goes By with Alison Bomber Stamps {by Amanda Pink}

 2020 Topic 15: Shades Of White



Look very carefully at this project or you'll miss all the carefully constructed layers. Some meticulous attention to detail has gone on here, all perfectly rounded off with an accent colour of grey that really lifts the final fabulous project.
~ Keren

Hi everyone, it's Amanda (ink-a-pinkwith you today, and I'd like to share with you the Mixed Media Art Panel I have created for the current topic 'Shades of White'.

I initially thought I'd go down the 'winter' road for this topic. You know, snow, snowflakes, snowmen but not wanting Christmas to come any sooner than it will my thoughts went a wandering. They called upon weddings, song titles (Whiter Shader of Pale, White Lines,  White Flag) the Dulux paint white's of the late 70's early 80's (Apple White, Almond White Cornflower White), remember those? I couldn't really settle on any so in the end I decided to head into my art space and just create. To follow my creative muse, go with the flow and see what happens..


The only real clarity I had when I entered my 'space' was that I would be creating with 'Shades of White' and Alisons stamps.

So I chose the following PaperArtsy Fresco Finish Acrylic paints for my 'Shades of White' palette: Snowflake, Cloud 9, Chalk, Concrete, Iceberg and Glacier Ice - some of my favourites.


 


The stamps I created with were Eclectica (Alison Bomber) collection (EAB19, EAB20), 2 of Alisons most recent release (June 2020) I have also used other stamps that I will mention throughout the post.




The creativity began by stamping out the quotes from the two stamp sets. I thought a lighter shade of ink (Archival Shadow Grey) would be more suited to the 'Shades of White' palette than black, my usual choice.


Then with the help of a paper trimmer the 'sheet of plenty' became plenty of individual quotes. The photos above and below show some more were required.


The quotes soon faced the cutting blade again as I wanted to fully cover the panel of PaperArtsy Heavy Smoothy I was adhering them to; no big gaps or open space. Using single lines of words from each of the quotes would enable me to do this.


It's a great alternative way to use Alison's quote stamps and because of what I did next it didn't matter (to me) that they no longer read as individual quotes.


I wanted the words to sink into the background so they could 'just' be seen by the viewing eye tempting it to look deep within so I applied a few watery washes of white gesso and PaperArtsy Frescos selected from my 'Shades of White' palette: Snowflake, Iceberg, Cloud 9

  
My love of circles made it hard to resist adding some textured ones using a recently released PaperArtsy stencil by Sara Naumann (PS203) with Ranger Texture Paste. Another shade of white and a fabulous stencil design too, one I know I will be 'showing a a whole lot of love'! 



While the texture mediums were out I thought some white cracks using Ranger Crackle Paste, wouldn't look out of place, but only in small areas as I still wanted the words within to be seen /found.

With the main background being detailed and textured I kept things much simpler for the central panel.


Some brayering with the 'shades of white palette I'd chosen to work with...


plus some Snowflake Fresco sponging. The brayered and sponged Frescos along with the mixed media paper I worked on created subtle texture to compliment rather than overwhelm the more richly textured background. 

I added a touch of stamping too using a couple of stamps from Eclectica (Seth Apter) collection. (ESA15 and ESA13)




Thinking (at this point) that I might feature one of Alison's quotes on the central panel I thought a frame would be a good idea. I knew just the stamp for the job -the 'grungy' line stamp from ESA15There's also a small stamp on ESA13 that I thought would be perfect to add some fine detail inside the frame - just in case I dropped the idea of featuring a quote.....

...and I did, choosing instead to feature the single feather from Eclectica (Tracy Scott) collection (ETS43)


  
The feather was embossed with Seth Apter's Baked Velvet (white cloud) Embossing Powder. 


The Embossing powder introduced not only another shade of white but also a touch of opulence. A few Snowflake Fresco splatters worked well with the embossing, blending rather than overpowering. 



After positioning the feather diagonally on the central panel I felt it needed some sort of embellishment to sit over the quill, maybe a circle of some sort to compliment the stenciled circles in the background? So I created an etched 'button' by stamping the circle part of PaperArtsy (Seth Apter) mini stamp (EM52) into a triple embossed round.


To accentuate the etched ridges I caught them lightly with silver gilding wax and popped a single gem bead in the centre of the button to finish it off.  As I featured the feather centrally instead of my initial idea of a quote the art panel was calling out for some words/ a quote in the foreground. I selected one from Eclectica (Alison Bomber) collection (EAB17)



A single line quote with just a few words - sometimes its all that's needed, right? Each day a...


.... day goes by. I split the quote in two and situated the fragments in separate areas of the central panel, not only for design and composition sake but as a way of prompting the reader to pause as they read it giving them time to reflect on the words.  In hindsight, I should have split the quote after Each day so it would be read Each day...... a day goes by! Note taken for next time!


Despite having no clear idea about what  kind of project I was going to create I am pleased with the Art Panel I've created. I have to admit at first I wasn't too sure but I think its what I would call a 'grower'. The more it catches my eye as it sits displayed on the shelf the more I like it! 
Just going with the flow, following my creative muse allowed me to really appreciate the products and enjoy the whole creative process. 

If you haven't ever or don't often create in this way why not give it a go and just create, whatever, however and enjoy! 

Thanks for spending time with me today/ tonight.  
Keep on creating   
Take care 
Amanda 
x

Blog: ink-a-pink
Facebook: Amanda Pink 
Instagram: kynapi10
Pinterest: PinkArt


PaperArtsy Relocation News
 
We are in the throes of relocating our business from England to France. Please be aware from August 10 through October 1st, both the PaperArtsy retail and wholesale websites are in hibernation mode while we pack, move and unpack. This means you can view our websites, but you cannot proceed through checkout.
 
As always, we ask that you support our stockists (listed below) if you need to get your hands on supplies. They are well stocked and prepared for this period. If you are not sure where to start, join our facebook Group, PaperArtsy People where a stockist will link you to their store for any given product.
 
PaperArtsy Retailers - I recently created a private Facebook group just for you so we can communicate to you with ease until we have email, internet etc up and running in France, so make sure to PM me for an invite.

Australia
Bella Paperie, Brendale, Queensland, www.bellapaperie.net.au
Bev's Cross Crafts, Spreyton, Tasmania https://www.bevscrosscrafts.com.au/
Crafters Cupboard, Berwick, Victoria www.crafterscupboard.com.au
Memories on the Murray, Murray Bridge, SA  https://www.memoriesonthemurray.net/
Scrap Matrix, Port Elliot, South Australia http://scrapmatrix.com/
Scrapbook Superstore & More South Penrith, NSW https://www.scrapbooksuperstore.com.au/
The Scrapbooker's Confetti Box, Swansea,NSW https://thescrapbookersconfettibox.com/
The Thread Studio, 6 Smith Street, Perth http://www.thethreadstudio.com/
The Scrapbook Store, North Perth,WA http://thescrapbookstore.com.au/ 
Time To Create, Modanville, NSW www.timetocreate.com.au

Belgium
Cart N Scrap Art, Antwerp, cartnscrap@gmail.com
Cotrain, Kontich, www.cotrain.be
Expression Hobby, Marcinelle www.expressionhobby.be

Canada
Clipper Street Scrapbook Company, Langley, BC. www.clipperstreet.com
Paper Art Creations Inc, Leduc, Alberta, http://www.paperartcreations.com/
Scrapbook Centrale, Dollard Des Ormeaux, Quebec www.scrapbookcentrale.ca
Simply Scrapbooking, Prince George, BC https://www.facebook.com/simplyscrapbooking/
Scrap Addicts, Edmonton, Alberta https://www.scrapaddicts.ca/
Scrap and Bean, Edmonton, Alberta http://scrapandbean.com/ 
Scrapbooking Fairies, Drayton Valley, Alberta https://www.scrapbookingfairies.com/
The Paper & ink Boutique, Calgary, Alberta https://www.paperandinkboutique.com/
The Scrap Yard, Calgary, Alberta, https://www.thescrapyardcalgary.com/ 

Denmark
Hobbyboden Scrapworld Samso www.hobbyboden.dk

France
Eirl Bancon Cartoscrap, Midi Pyrenees, https://www.cartoscrap.com/blog/
Horizon Creatif, Ste Jalle h.creatif@gmail.com
Katzelkraft, Ingwiller http://www.katzelkraft.fr/en/
Kerglaz, Basse Goulaine, https://www.kerglaz.com/  
Kerudoc Creation, St Yvi www.kerudoccreation.com
Quartier Serre Teston, Ste Jalle, hcreatif@gmail.com
Scrap by Nini,  Uzerche, Limousin https://scrapbynini.fr/ 
Scrapo'naturel, Tourville La Riviere, www.scraponaturel.fr/livraison 
Toutencolle, Dun sur Avon www.toutencolle.fr

Germany
Paperbasics, Hessen, www.paperbasics.de
Stempelbar, Berlin, www.stempelbar.de
Stempeloase Munich, Munich www.stempeloase.de
Stempelfee Shop, Hilden www.stempelfee-shop.de
Stempellaedle, Stuttgart, www.stempellaedle.de/shop

Greece
Scraps N Pieces, Kallithea www.scrapsnpieces.gr

Italy
Immagine SAS di Rapaccini, Rome, www.immaginelab.com
Il Negozio Della Mamma Di Cle, Torino, clelia27@liberio.it
L'artistica Glo, Cinisello B (Mi), www.artisticaglo.it
Marte Savona, Savona, www.martesavona.it
Pezze E Colori, Lissone, http://www.pezzeecolori.it/
Piccole Passioni, Siena, www.piccolepassioni.it
Scrap it Easy, Rome, https://www.scrapiteasy.com/it/

Japan
Tiny Dots, Funabashi-shi, Chiba www.facebook.com/TinyDots

Netherlands
Doe@ding,Spijkenisse https://doeading.nl/
Hobbycompleet de Duif, Leeuwarden www.hobbycompleet.nl
Stampingcorner, Capelle Aan Den Ijssel www.stampingcorner.nl

Norway
Hobbygarasjen, Kopervik, www.Hobbygarasjen.no
Hobbykunst, Rasta, www.hobbykunst-norge.no
Scrapbookengros AS, Kleppe www.hobbylageret.no

Spain
Arts & Crafts, Barcelona, pebdesign@hotmail.es
Cien por Cien Manualidades, S.L., Bizkaia, Catalunya,  www.100x100manualidades.es
Endulze & Crista S.L, Pampalona, Navarra,  www.endulze.com
Ideas 10 Manualidades Y Scrapbook, Bilbao https://ideas10manualidades.com/
Marakiscrap, Tarragona, www.marakiscrap.com
MundoMint, Sabadell, Barcelona, www.mundomint.es
Scrap & Papers Experiences, Barcelona, Info@casonadequintana.com
Scraphouse S.L. Barcelona www.scraphouseshop.es
The Paradise Corner, Barcelona, www.facebook.com/theparadisecorner 

South Africa
Kcraft Imports Ltd, Centurion, www.kcraft.co.za
Stencil Art, Gauteng, www.stencil-art.co.za 

Sweden
Butik Elva, Staffanstorp, https://www.butikelva.se/
HC Design, Svedala, www.hcdesign.nu

Taiwan
Mandy's Cards, Taipei www.facebook.com/mandy.card

United Kingdom
A Trip Down Memory Lane, Ipswich, Suffolk, http://www.atripdownmemorylane.co.uk
Aldridge Crafts, Attleborough, Norfolk www.aldridgecrafts.co.uk
Amelia's Creative Crafts, Studley, Warwickshire  www.ameliascreativecrafts.co.uk
Art from the Heart, Harrogate, Yorkshire www.afth.co.uk
Blade Rubber Stamps, London www.bladerubberstamps.co.uk
Countryview Crafts, Potton, Bedfordshire www.countryviewcrafts.co.uk
Crafts at The Malthouse, Herstmonceux,  East Sussex, http://www.themalthouse.co.uk/
Craftrange, Burnley, Lancs, https://www.craftrange.com/
Fave Rave, Stourbridge, West Midlands www.shabbychicstencils.co.uk
Handmade at Helen's, Dumfries, Scotland, https://www.handmadeathelens.co.uk/
Hixxysoft, Frome, Somerset, https://www.hixxysoft.com/
Loobi Crafts, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, www.loobicrafts.co.uk
Papermaze, Ipswich, Suffolk www.papermaze.co.uk
Stampers Grove, Springbank, Lilliesleaf, Melrose,Scotland www.stampersgrove.co.uk
That's Crafty
, Romford, essex www.thatscrafty.co.uk
The Artistic Stamper Craft Store, Faversham, Kent www.theartisticstamper.com
The Crafty Cafe,
Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffs,
http://www.thecraftycafe.co.uk/
The Craft Room, Newcastle-Under-Lyme, Staffs https://www.garnersgardencentre.co.uk/crafts/
The Craft Studio, St Austell, Cornwall https://www.facebook.com/thecraftstudio/
The Forget me not Kraft Kabin www.TheForgetMeNotKraftKabin.co.uk


USA
Annie G Studio, Chula Vista, CA https://www.anniegstudio.com/
Art Anthology, Huntington Beach, CA http://artanthologyinc.com/
Artistic Artifacts, Alexandria, VA https://www.artisticartifacts.com/
Artistic Studio Creations, Fayetteville, Georgia www.facebook.com/ASCbyCrystal
Artistree Workshops, Fulton, New York, www.facebook.com/artistreeworkshops
Big Mouth Scrappers, Forney, Texas, https://www.bigmouthscrapperstx.com/ 
Craftiness, Chatsworth, CA, https://www.craftinessonline.com/
Creative Inkling, Hatnboro, PA https://www.creativeinkling.com/
Ephemera Paducah, Paducah, Kentucky www.ephemerapaducah.com
Everything Scrapbook & Stamps, Lake Worth, Florida www.everythingscrapbook.com
Frantic Stamper, Oregon www.franticstamper.com
Free Heart LLC, Denver, Colarado, http://www.freeheartllc.com/
Golden Hills PaperCrafts, Fairfax Station, Virginia, https://www.goldenshillpapercrafts.com/
Guadalupe's Fun Rubber Stamps, Santa Fe, New Mexico www.santafe.com
Joggles, West Warwick, Rhode Island, www.joggles.com
PaperCraft Clubhouse, Westbrook, Connecticut, http://papercraftclubhouse.com/
Paper Parachute Art Design Co., Beaverton, Oregon www.paperparachute.com
Runaway, Art & Craft Studio, NE Salem, Oregon http://www.runawayart.com/
Scrapbook N Memories, Harrisonville, Missouri, https://www.scrapbooknmemories.net/
Simon Says Stamp, Columbus, Ohio www. simonsaysstamp.com
The Artistic Palette Studio, Eugene, OR, http://www.artistspalette.com/studio/
The Crafty Scrapper, Waxahachie, TX http://www.thecraftyscrapper.com/
The Doodlebug Inc, Jasper, IN, https://www.thedoodlebuginc.com/
The Ink Pad, New York, www.theinkpadnyc.com
The Queen's Ink Savage, Maryland www.queensink.com
Topflight Stamps, Irmo, South Carolina https://topflightstamps.com/
Stamp Fever, Orange, California www.stpstamp.com
Valley Stamp & Scrap LLC, Neenah, Wisconsin, https://www.valleystampandscrap.com/

Our brand is only available from established stockists who are VAT/ GST/ sales tax registered and for whom product education is a core principle. We would rather supply a few hand selected stockists, than the greater masses. If you would like to apply to be a stockist, you can find our more about our supply criteria here

PaperArtsy Links
Facebook Group PaperArtsy People
Facebook Page PaperArtsy

4 comments:

butterfly said...

I love it, Amanda... that word patchwork in the background is amazing (going to have to get myself some Shadow Grey - it's beautiful!) and all those textures and layers have such subtlety in the shades of white. I agree it's a grower - you keep looking and it keeps getting better and better.
Alison x

Lucy Edmondson said...

What a brilliant, brilliant project Amanda! I love it! X

Redanne said...

Amanda, your creative muse took you to a wonderful place Amanda, this is absolutely stunning in those shades of white. I love this piece! Anne xx

Miriam said...

This is wonderful Amanda

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

About This Blog

Even though we've been blogging for quite some time only just figured out the followers button, so please follow us to hear about all that is new in the land of PaperArtsy. We'd love to share our ideas with you! Leandra

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ