Thursday, 17 September 2020

2020 #16 Watercolor Paper Hinged Book with HP {by Ellie Knol}

 2020 Topic 16: Hinged




It's not often that hinges on a book steal the show, but Ellie's hinges are so beautiful and deserve a closer look. It's great that she's given us all the details on how to recreate them and a great idea about photocopying gel prints that you love.
~ Keren

Hi everyone, Ellie Knol from PAPER-STAMPS-COLOR with you today, and I'd like to share with you a paper hinged binded book, and a metal hinge as embellishment as a bonus. 
I LOVE to make books, as you might know, and try to use a new (to me) binding for each of them, this one being book number 32. For a long time now I wanted to make a journal type of book to showcase my dried leaves but I did not have a real plan for the decoration. 


This type of binding is one I had to rethink again and again before it worked for me. I made another book first from scrapbook paper, but I wasn't happy how it had turned out, but I learned a lot from creating it... 


.. as I then knew how I wanted to create a book that, when open, would lie flat, and will allow for insertions without becoming bulky; as it will adjust to the thickness of the insertions.


To make the book, I cut A4 sized watercolor paper in half to make A5 sized pages. I then folded them an inch as shown on the shorter side.. this will be the hinge for each page as it gets adhered to the next page. 
If you look closely, you can see I only adhered the width of double-sided tape of about 6 centimetres to the original edge (before the folding) to the next page. I hope this makes sense.  


A close-up of the hinge I created this way.


The folded edges of the watercolor paper were colored with a rainbow of Distress Oxide inks and heat embossed with clear embossing powder.


To decorate the front and back cover took some time, mostly drying and thinking time. I adhered (a photocopy of) a gelliprint made with Fresco Finish Paints to the two covers and after it had dried, I added gel medium to it.


I stamped scripts all over the covers, just here and there with a brown stamping ink.


 I then used a few stencils to add embossing paste through it.


I white washed the metal of a hinge embellishment by painting it with Fresco Finish Snowflake, let it dry and then sanded part of the paint off.




The back cover of the book is the same as the front cover basically, but without the metal parts. After the embossing paste was dry I also stamped the leaf in brown from stamp set HP1010 onto the front and back cover.




I really like the white against the colors of the gelliprint. Of course, I also splattered some white ink on the sheet. The stencils I used on the cover and inside the book are the following:




On five pages inside the book, I created a collage of stamped script, sponged distress inks over stencils and dried leaves. 

Enjoy:



Page One:



Page Two: 



Page Three. 



Page Four:



Page Five:

The scripts and negative-film image I used on these pages are from stamp sets  HP1303HP1501 and HP1005.





I am going to fill more pages and add the names of the trees or plants to create a type of journal of all the leaves I have dried so far. 


 This is the focal point of the book and a detail I particularly like. The leaf was stamped onto watercolor paper, then cut out to fit behind the frame.

I never ever thought I would make photocopies of my gelliprints, until I realized I don't use the ones I like most. I had a lot of fun creating this book, but at times I had to take a break from it to decide where it was going next. 
I will surely make more books with this type of binding for journaling as it's easy to make and easy to add new pages too. Let me know what you like about it, or if you have any questions, then go enjoy all your crafty stash!

If you would like a copy of this gelliprint, leave a message below, or on my own blog, and I will send you a scan of it ( just make sure I can get in touch with you). 

Have a good day and take care!!

Ellie Knol


PaperArtsy Relocation News

We are in the throes of relocating our business from England to France. Please be aware from August 10 through October 1st, both the PaperArtsy retail and wholesale websites are in hibernation mode while we pack, move and unpack. This means you can view our websites, but you cannot proceed through checkout.
 
As always, we ask that you support our stockists (listed below) if you need to get your hands on supplies. They are well stocked and prepared for this period. If you are not sure where to start, join our facebook Group, PaperArtsy People where a stockist will link you to their store for any given product.
 
PaperArtsy Retailers - I recently created a private Facebook group just for you so we can communicate to you with ease until we have email, internet etc up and running in France, so make sure to PM me for an invite.

Australia
Bella Paperie, Brendale, Queensland, www.bellapaperie.net.au
Bev's Cross Crafts, Spreyton, Tasmania https://www.bevscrosscrafts.com.au/
Crafters Cupboard, Berwick, Victoria www.crafterscupboard.com.au
Memories on the Murray, Murray Bridge, SA  https://www.memoriesonthemurray.net/
Scrap Matrix, Port Elliot, South Australia http://scrapmatrix.com/
Scrapbook Superstore & More South Penrith, NSW https://www.scrapbooksuperstore.com.au/
The Scrapbooker's Confetti Box, Swansea,NSW https://thescrapbookersconfettibox.com/
The Thread Studio, 6 Smith Street, Perth http://www.thethreadstudio.com/
The Scrapbook Store, North Perth,WA http://thescrapbookstore.com.au/ 
Time To Create, Modanville, NSW www.timetocreate.com.au

Belgium
Cart N Scrap Art, Antwerp, cartnscrap@gmail.com
Cotrain, Kontich, www.cotrain.be
Expression Hobby, Marcinelle www.expressionhobby.be

Canada
Clipper Street Scrapbook Company, Langley, BC. www.clipperstreet.com
Paper Art Creations Inc, Leduc, Alberta, http://www.paperartcreations.com/
Scrapbook Centrale, Dollard Des Ormeaux, Quebec www.scrapbookcentrale.ca
Simply Scrapbooking, Prince George, BC https://www.facebook.com/simplyscrapbooking/
Scrap Addicts, Edmonton, Alberta https://www.scrapaddicts.ca/
Scrap and Bean, Edmonton, Alberta http://scrapandbean.com/ 
Scrapbooking Fairies, Drayton Valley, Alberta https://www.scrapbookingfairies.com/
The Paper & ink Boutique, Calgary, Alberta https://www.paperandinkboutique.com/
The Scrap Yard, Calgary, Alberta, https://www.thescrapyardcalgary.com/ 

Denmark
Hobbyboden Scrapworld Samso www.hobbyboden.dk

France
Eirl Bancon Cartoscrap, Midi Pyrenees, https://www.cartoscrap.com/blog/
Horizon Creatif, Ste Jalle h.creatif@gmail.com
Katzelkraft, Ingwiller http://www.katzelkraft.fr/en/
Kerglaz, Basse Goulaine, https://www.kerglaz.com/  
Kerudoc Creation, St Yvi www.kerudoccreation.com
Quartier Serre Teston, Ste Jalle, hcreatif@gmail.com
Scrap by Nini,  Uzerche, Limousin https://scrapbynini.fr/ 
Scrapo'naturel, Tourville La Riviere, www.scraponaturel.fr/livraison 
Toutencolle, Dun sur Avon www.toutencolle.fr

Germany
Paperbasics, Hessen, www.paperbasics.de
Stempelbar, Berlin, www.stempelbar.de
Stempeloase Munich, Munich www.stempeloase.de
Stempelfee Shop, Hilden www.stempelfee-shop.de
Stempellaedle, Stuttgart, www.stempellaedle.de/shop

Greece
Scraps N Pieces, Kallithea www.scrapsnpieces.gr

Italy
Immagine SAS di Rapaccini, Rome, www.immaginelab.com
Il Negozio Della Mamma Di Cle, Torino, clelia27@liberio.it
L'artistica Glo, Cinisello B (Mi), www.artisticaglo.it
Marte Savona, Savona, www.martesavona.it
Pezze E Colori, Lissone, http://www.pezzeecolori.it/ 
Piccole Passioni, Siena, www.piccolepassioni.it
Scrap it Easy, Rome, https://www.scrapiteasy.com/it/

Japan
Tiny Dots, Funabashi-shi, Chiba www.facebook.com/TinyDots

Netherlands
Doe@ding,Spijkenisse https://doeading.nl/
Hobbycompleet de Duif, Leeuwarden www.hobbycompleet.nl
Stampingcorner, Capelle Aan Den Ijssel www.stampingcorner.nl

Norway
Hobbygarasjen, Kopervik, www.Hobbygarasjen.no
Hobbykunst, Rasta, www.hobbykunst-norge.no
Scrapbookengros AS, Kleppe www.hobbylageret.no

Spain
Arts & Crafts, Barcelona, pebdesign@hotmail.es
Cien por Cien Manualidades, S.L., Bizkaia, Catalunya,  www.100x100manualidades.es
Endulze & Crista S.L, Pampalona, Navarra,  www.endulze.com
Ideas 10 Manualidades Y Scrapbook, Bilbao https://ideas10manualidades.com/
Marakiscrap, Tarragona, www.marakiscrap.com
MundoMint, Sabadell, Barcelona, www.mundomint.es
Scrap & Papers Experiences, Barcelona, Info@casonadequintana.com
Scraphouse S.L. Barcelona www.scraphouseshop.es
The Paradise Corner, Barcelona, www.facebook.com/theparadisecorner 

South Africa
Kcraft Imports Ltd, Centurion, www.kcraft.co.za
Stencil Art, Gauteng, www.stencil-art.co.za 

Sweden
Butik Elva, Staffanstorp, https://www.butikelva.se/
HC Design, Svedala, www.hcdesign.nu

Taiwan
Mandy's Cards, Taipei www.facebook.com/mandy.card

United Kingdom
A Trip Down Memory Lane, Ipswich, Suffolk, http://www.atripdownmemorylane.co.uk
Aldridge Crafts, Attleborough, Norfolk www.aldridgecrafts.co.uk
Amelia's Creative Crafts, Studley, Warwickshire  www.ameliascreativecrafts.co.uk
Art from the Heart, Harrogate, Yorkshire www.afth.co.uk
Blade Rubber Stamps, London www.bladerubberstamps.co.uk
Countryview Crafts, Potton, Bedfordshire www.countryviewcrafts.co.uk
Crafts at The Malthouse, Herstmonceux,  East Sussex, http://www.themalthouse.co.uk/
Craftrange, Burnley, Lancs, https://www.craftrange.com/
Fave Rave, Stourbridge, West Midlands www.shabbychicstencils.co.uk
Handmade at Helen's, Dumfries, Scotland, https://www.handmadeathelens.co.uk/
Hixxysoft, Frome, Somerset, https://www.hixxysoft.com/
Loobi Crafts, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, www.loobicrafts.co.uk
Papermaze, Ipswich, Suffolk www.papermaze.co.uk
Stampers Grove, Springbank, Lilliesleaf, Melrose,Scotland www.stampersgrove.co.uk
That's Crafty
, Romford, essex www.thatscrafty.co.uk
The Artistic Stamper Craft Store, Faversham, Kent www.theartisticstamper.com
The Crafty Cafe, 
Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffs, 
http://www.thecraftycafe.co.uk/
The Craft Room, Newcastle-Under-Lyme, Staffs https://www.garnersgardencentre.co.uk/crafts/
The Craft Studio, St Austell, Cornwall https://www.facebook.com/thecraftstudio/
The Forget me not Kraft Kabin www.TheForgetMeNotKraftKabin.co.uk


USA
Annie G Studio, Chula Vista, CA https://www.anniegstudio.com/
Art Anthology, Huntington Beach, CA http://artanthologyinc.com/
Artistic Artifacts, Alexandria, VA https://www.artisticartifacts.com/
Artistic Studio Creations, Fayetteville, Georgia www.facebook.com/ASCbyCrystal
Artistree Workshops, Fulton, New York, www.facebook.com/artistreeworkshops
Big Mouth Scrappers, Forney, Texas, https://www.bigmouthscrapperstx.com/ 
Craftiness, Chatsworth, CA, https://www.craftinessonline.com/
Creative Inkling, Hatnboro, PA https://www.creativeinkling.com/
Ephemera Paducah, Paducah, Kentucky www.ephemerapaducah.com
Everything Scrapbook & Stamps, Lake Worth, Florida www.everythingscrapbook.com
Frantic Stamper, Oregon www.franticstamper.com
Free Heart LLC, Denver, Colarado, http://www.freeheartllc.com/
Golden Hills PaperCrafts, Fairfax Station, Virginia, https://www.goldenshillpapercrafts.com/
Guadalupe's Fun Rubber Stamps, Santa Fe, New Mexico www.santafe.com
Joggles, West Warwick, Rhode Island, www.joggles.com
PaperCraft Clubhouse, Westbrook, Connecticut, http://papercraftclubhouse.com/
Paper Parachute Art Design Co., Beaverton, Oregon www.paperparachute.com
Runaway, Art & Craft Studio, NE Salem, Oregon http://www.runawayart.com/
Scrapbook N Memories, Harrisonville, Missouri, https://www.scrapbooknmemories.net/
Simon Says Stamp, Columbus, Ohio www. simonsaysstamp.com
The Artistic Palette Studio, Eugene, OR, http://www.artistspalette.com/studio/
The Crafty Scrapper, Waxahachie, TX http://www.thecraftyscrapper.com/
The Doodlebug Inc, Jasper, IN, https://www.thedoodlebuginc.com/
The Ink Pad, New York, www.theinkpadnyc.com
The Queen's Ink Savage, Maryland www.queensink.com
Topflight Stamps, Irmo, South Carolina https://topflightstamps.com/
Stamp Fever, Orange, California www.stpstamp.com
Valley Stamp & Scrap LLC, Neenah, Wisconsin, https://www.valleystampandscrap.com/

Our brand is only available from established stockists who are VAT/ GST/ sales tax registered and for whom product education is a core principle. We would rather supply a few hand selected stockists, than the greater masses. If you would like to apply to be a stockist, you can find our more about our supply criteria here

PaperArtsy Links
Facebook Group PaperArtsy People
Facebook Page PaperArtsy


7 comments:

SewPaperPaint said...

So beautiful Ellie!

Christine Alexander said...

Gorgeous Ellie, love the dried leaves added to your pages and great book layout :)

Cocofolies said...

Wow, this is gorgeous and really a great binding!!! Beautiful use of this artbook Ellie!!!
Thanks for sharing :)
Take care, hugs
Corinne xx

Ellie Knol said...

Thanks to you all... I had fun..

craftytrog said...

A beautiful project Ellie! xx

Etsuko said...

Absolutely stunning your project Ellie!! Beautiful covers and rainbow hinged. x

Ellie Knol said...

Thank you SO much..

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

About This Blog

Even though we've been blogging for quite some time only just figured out the followers button, so please follow us to hear about all that is new in the land of PaperArtsy. We'd love to share our ideas with you! Leandra

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ