Thursday, 3 September 2020

2020 #15 Contrasting Whites with Hot Picks {by Alison Bomber}

 2020 Topic 15: Shades Of White


This topic has really opened my eyes to the possibilities of a colour that I rarely use much of, although enjoy it's 'space' on a project. Alison has got so many techniques plus a little experiment that make the most of wonderful whites. Of course she's added in some of her lovely words that she's known so well for on these gorgeous tags.
~ Keren.

Hi everyone, it's Alison here from Words and Pictures with you today, and I've got some really subtle contrasts to share with you today.  

I'm a big fan of white, whether it's paints or embossing powders.  You can add light and freshness with a touch of white, and it's a rare project for me that doesn't end with a bit of white spatter (this is one of those times... though there is spatter!).  So for this I decided to play my two favourite white embossing powders off against each other to see if I could decide once and for all which I like better!

Of course, in the end, it's not about favourites, (each of them has their place) but I'm really quite surprised at how off-white the Vanilla White powder is when you put it against a true white like Snowflake.  That doesn't usually happen, because when I'm using the warm white it's amongst darker colours so it looks much whiter!


Snowflake is, without a doubt, my most-used paint.  I go through bottles of the stuff!  So there was no doubt which of the whiter whites would be my pick from the PaperArtsy whites. I decided to play with a much newer addition to the range, one of Seth Apter's colours, Heavy Cream, as my "contrast" colour.


And here are the embossing powders, ready to provide glossy light-catching dimension; one of the main reasons I love using them.


I started with some crackle for the backgrounds.  I did have Stone as my first layer on both tags as I wanted a subtle shade underneath; too dark and it would distract from the later stamping.  But if you look closely you'll notice that in the end I re-did the cream tag to give it a white underlayer beneath the cracks.I needed that reverse of light/dark (well, light/lighter!) to balance the tags.


The stamps I'd decided to use are from Hot Picks 1109 - one of the first PaperArtsy sets I owned.  This flower stem is still a favourite.


Here's the powder in place before heating (still with the Stone underlayer on both tags).


Then it's the magic of the heating (and the additional magic of having redone the creamy tag so that it has white cracks behind, thanks to a new Snowflake underlayer).


I kept the finishing touches very simple; a couple of kraft tags, embossed with the matching powders and then white washed (both with watery Snowflake).


The words are fragments from one of the quotes on my stamp set EAB19 Life & Living.  I used masking tape to cover up the words I didn't want when I was inking the stamp, and then removed the tape before stamping.


The tiny banners are nestled in some frayed (white!) cheesecloth at the foot of the tags.


They've had a little sweep of Treasure Gold in White Fire around the edges, and the metal fastener has had some too.  Well, White Fire is another shade of white, surely?!


At the top of the tag, two Idea-ology number brads have had the same brush with White Fire Treasure Gold; I love the subtle glamour of it.


And that spatter?  Well, using the Treasure Gold reminded me that PaperArtsy had brought out a Fresco paint called White Fire a while back... so what better to spatter the tags with at the end.


Yes, both tags got the same colour spatter; there's only so far you can go with reversing colours!


Overall, I'm quite pleased with how much contrast there is between my shades of white and I think those little flicks of metallic paint bring it to life very nicely.


There's a delicious subtlety about these tags, I think.  I'll be honest, they don't work if you look at them from a distance; they just turn into a white blur.  But there's something magical about the close-up effect of those gleaming flowers, especially when they catch the light.  I also really like the crackle with white as the background layer.  I've never done it that way round before - I generally have a dark underlayer and (as often as not) white over the top, so that was a nice discovery.

I hope you like the effect and I'm looking forward to hearing what you think of it.  Thanks so much for stopping by today, and happy crafting all!  (Oh, and come and find me on Instagram if you're there... I'm still finding my way around, but having fun!)

Blog: Words and Pictures
Facebook: Words and Pictures
Pinterest: butterfly crafter
And now also new on Instagram: w0rdsandp1ctures

PaperArtsy Relocation News
 
We are in the throes of relocating our business from England to France. Please be aware from August 10 through October 1st, both the PaperArtsy retail and wholesale websites are in hibernation mode while we pack, move and unpack. This means you can view our websites, but you cannot proceed through checkout.
 
As always, we ask that you support our stockists (listed below) if you need to get your hands on supplies. They are well stocked and prepared for this period. If you are not sure where to start, join our facebook Group, PaperArtsy People where a stockist will link you to their store for any given product.
 
PaperArtsy Retailers - I recently created a private Facebook group just for you so we can communicate to you with ease until we have email, internet etc up and running in France, so make sure to PM me for an invite.

Australia
Bella Paperie, Brendale, Queensland, www.bellapaperie.net.au
Bev's Cross Crafts, Spreyton, Tasmania https://www.bevscrosscrafts.com.au/
Crafters Cupboard, Berwick, Victoria www.crafterscupboard.com.au
Memories on the Murray, Murray Bridge, SA  https://www.memoriesonthemurray.net/
Scrap Matrix, Port Elliot, South Australia http://scrapmatrix.com/
Scrapbook Superstore & More South Penrith, NSW https://www.scrapbooksuperstore.com.au/
The Scrapbooker's Confetti Box, Swansea,NSW https://thescrapbookersconfettibox.com/
The Thread Studio, 6 Smith Street, Perth http://www.thethreadstudio.com/
The Scrapbook Store, North Perth,WA http://thescrapbookstore.com.au/ 
Time To Create, Modanville, NSW www.timetocreate.com.au

Belgium
Cart N Scrap Art, Antwerp, cartnscrap@gmail.com
Cotrain, Kontich, www.cotrain.be
Expression Hobby, Marcinelle www.expressionhobby.be

Canada
Clipper Street Scrapbook Company, Langley, BC. www.clipperstreet.com
Paper Art Creations Inc, Leduc, Alberta, http://www.paperartcreations.com/
Scrapbook Centrale, Dollard Des Ormeaux, Quebec www.scrapbookcentrale.ca
Simply Scrapbooking, Prince George, BC https://www.facebook.com/simplyscrapbooking/
Scrap Addicts, Edmonton, Alberta https://www.scrapaddicts.ca/
Scrap and Bean, Edmonton, Alberta http://scrapandbean.com/ 
Scrapbooking Fairies, Drayton Valley, Alberta https://www.scrapbookingfairies.com/
The Paper & ink Boutique, Calgary, Alberta https://www.paperandinkboutique.com/
The Scrap Yard, Calgary, Alberta, https://www.thescrapyardcalgary.com/ 

Denmark
Hobbyboden Scrapworld Samso www.hobbyboden.dk

France
Eirl Bancon Cartoscrap, Midi Pyrenees, https://www.cartoscrap.com/blog/
Horizon Creatif, Ste Jalle h.creatif@gmail.com
Katzelkraft, Ingwiller http://www.katzelkraft.fr/en/
Kerglaz, Basse Goulaine, https://www.kerglaz.com/  
Kerudoc Creation, St Yvi www.kerudoccreation.com
Quartier Serre Teston, Ste Jalle, hcreatif@gmail.com
Scrap by Nini,  Uzerche, Limousin https://scrapbynini.fr/ 
Scrapo'naturel, Tourville La Riviere, www.scraponaturel.fr/livraison 
Toutencolle, Dun sur Avon www.toutencolle.fr

Germany
Paperbasics, Hessen, www.paperbasics.de
Stempelbar, Berlin, www.stempelbar.de
Stempeloase Munich, Munich www.stempeloase.de
Stempelfee Shop, Hilden www.stempelfee-shop.de
Stempellaedle, Stuttgart, www.stempellaedle.de/shop

Greece
Scraps N Pieces, Kallithea www.scrapsnpieces.gr

Italy
Immagine SAS di Rapaccini, Rome, www.immaginelab.com
Il Negozio Della Mamma Di Cle, Torino, clelia27@liberio.it
L'artistica Glo, Cinisello B (Mi), www.artisticaglo.it
Marte Savona, Savona, www.martesavona.it
Pezze E Colori, Lissone, http://www.pezzeecolori.it/
Piccole Passioni, Siena, www.piccolepassioni.it
Scrap it Easy, Rome, https://www.scrapiteasy.com/it/

Japan
Tiny Dots, Funabashi-shi, Chiba www.facebook.com/TinyDots

Netherlands
Doe@ding,Spijkenisse https://doeading.nl/
Hobbycompleet de Duif, Leeuwarden www.hobbycompleet.nl
Stampingcorner, Capelle Aan Den Ijssel www.stampingcorner.nl

Norway
Hobbygarasjen, Kopervik, www.Hobbygarasjen.no
Hobbykunst, Rasta, www.hobbykunst-norge.no
Scrapbookengros AS, Kleppe www.hobbylageret.no

Spain
Arts & Crafts, Barcelona, pebdesign@hotmail.es
Cien por Cien Manualidades, S.L., Bizkaia, Catalunya,  www.100x100manualidades.es
Endulze & Crista S.L, Pampalona, Navarra,  www.endulze.com
Ideas 10 Manualidades Y Scrapbook, Bilbao https://ideas10manualidades.com/
Marakiscrap, Tarragona, www.marakiscrap.com
MundoMint, Sabadell, Barcelona, www.mundomint.es
Scrap & Papers Experiences, Barcelona, Info@casonadequintana.com
Scraphouse S.L. Barcelona www.scraphouseshop.es
The Paradise Corner, Barcelona, www.facebook.com/theparadisecorner 

South Africa
Kcraft Imports Ltd, Centurion, www.kcraft.co.za
Stencil Art, Gauteng, www.stencil-art.co.za 

Sweden
Butik Elva, Staffanstorp, https://www.butikelva.se/
HC Design, Svedala, www.hcdesign.nu

Taiwan
Mandy's Cards, Taipei www.facebook.com/mandy.card

United Kingdom
A Trip Down Memory Lane, Ipswich, Suffolk, http://www.atripdownmemorylane.co.uk
Aldridge Crafts, Attleborough, Norfolk www.aldridgecrafts.co.uk
Amelia's Creative Crafts, Studley, Warwickshire  www.ameliascreativecrafts.co.uk
Art from the Heart, Harrogate, Yorkshire www.afth.co.uk
Blade Rubber Stamps, London www.bladerubberstamps.co.uk
Countryview Crafts, Potton, Bedfordshire www.countryviewcrafts.co.uk
Crafts at The Malthouse, Herstmonceux,  East Sussex, http://www.themalthouse.co.uk/
Craftrange, Burnley, Lancs, https://www.craftrange.com/
Fave Rave, Stourbridge, West Midlands www.shabbychicstencils.co.uk
Handmade at Helen's, Dumfries, Scotland, https://www.handmadeathelens.co.uk/
Hixxysoft, Frome, Somerset, https://www.hixxysoft.com/
Loobi Crafts, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, www.loobicrafts.co.uk
Papermaze, Ipswich, Suffolk www.papermaze.co.uk
Stampers Grove, Springbank, Lilliesleaf, Melrose,Scotland www.stampersgrove.co.uk
That's Crafty
, Romford, essex www.thatscrafty.co.uk
The Artistic Stamper Craft Store, Faversham, Kent www.theartisticstamper.com
The Crafty Cafe,
Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffs,
http://www.thecraftycafe.co.uk/
The Craft Room, Newcastle-Under-Lyme, Staffs https://www.garnersgardencentre.co.uk/crafts/
The Craft Studio, St Austell, Cornwall https://www.facebook.com/thecraftstudio/
The Forget me not Kraft Kabin www.TheForgetMeNotKraftKabin.co.uk


USA
Annie G Studio, Chula Vista, CA https://www.anniegstudio.com/
Art Anthology, Huntington Beach, CA http://artanthologyinc.com/
Artistic Artifacts, Alexandria, VA https://www.artisticartifacts.com/
Artistic Studio Creations, Fayetteville, Georgia www.facebook.com/ASCbyCrystal
Artistree Workshops, Fulton, New York, www.facebook.com/artistreeworkshops
Big Mouth Scrappers, Forney, Texas, https://www.bigmouthscrapperstx.com/ 
Craftiness, Chatsworth, CA, https://www.craftinessonline.com/
Creative Inkling, Hatnboro, PA https://www.creativeinkling.com/
Ephemera Paducah, Paducah, Kentucky www.ephemerapaducah.com
Everything Scrapbook & Stamps, Lake Worth, Florida www.everythingscrapbook.com
Frantic Stamper, Oregon www.franticstamper.com
Free Heart LLC, Denver, Colarado, http://www.freeheartllc.com/
Golden Hills PaperCrafts, Fairfax Station, Virginia, https://www.goldenshillpapercrafts.com/
Guadalupe's Fun Rubber Stamps, Santa Fe, New Mexico www.santafe.com
Joggles, West Warwick, Rhode Island, www.joggles.com
PaperCraft Clubhouse, Westbrook, Connecticut, http://papercraftclubhouse.com/
Paper Parachute Art Design Co., Beaverton, Oregon www.paperparachute.com
Runaway, Art & Craft Studio, NE Salem, Oregon http://www.runawayart.com/
Scrapbook N Memories, Harrisonville, Missouri, https://www.scrapbooknmemories.net/
Simon Says Stamp, Columbus, Ohio www. simonsaysstamp.com
The Artistic Palette Studio, Eugene, OR, http://www.artistspalette.com/studio/
The Crafty Scrapper, Waxahachie, TX http://www.thecraftyscrapper.com/
The Doodlebug Inc, Jasper, IN, https://www.thedoodlebuginc.com/
The Ink Pad, New York, www.theinkpadnyc.com
The Queen's Ink Savage, Maryland www.queensink.com
Topflight Stamps, Irmo, South Carolina https://topflightstamps.com/
Stamp Fever, Orange, California www.stpstamp.com
Valley Stamp & Scrap LLC, Neenah, Wisconsin, https://www.valleystampandscrap.com/

Our brand is only available from established stockists who are VAT/ GST/ sales tax registered and for whom product education is a core principle. We would rather supply a few hand selected stockists, than the greater masses. If you would like to apply to be a stockist, you can find our more about our supply criteria here

PaperArtsy Links
Facebook Group PaperArtsy People
Facebook Page PaperArtsy

9 comments:

Redanne said...

Definitely a beautiful combination of whites, the contrasts are wonderful and your word banners over the cheesecloth just add to all the lovely textures you have created. Anne xx

craftytrog said...

They are both beautiful Alison! I enjoyed reading your process.
Alison xx

A Pink said...

I love your idea of playing the 'shades of white off against each other. The results of your 'play off'are really impressive. Each tag holds is own delicate beauty and that beauty is doubled when they are paired together. Love how well the crackle sets off the embossing and how the embossing sets off the crackle.
Fabulous creativity, Alison - TFS x

Marci said...

Subtle and lovely.

experiments in paper said...

Lovely makes - they remind me of lacy curtains in a summer breeze. And the succinct quotes are brilliant, and evocative of so many transitions.... xxx Lynn

Jennie Atkinson said...

Such fabulous combinations of "whites". Just gorgeous! Jennie x

Cocofolies said...

A very clever, delicate and exquisite work! I can see two wonderful tags in all the details, with subtle white and gold shades, wow, fantastic! Corinne xx

Mac Mable said...

Thank you for the step by steps and what magical and glorious creations and loving the shades of white x.

Lucy Edmondson said...

Beautiful post, Alison!

Lucy x

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

About This Blog

Even though we've been blogging for quite some time only just figured out the followers button, so please follow us to hear about all that is new in the land of PaperArtsy. We'd love to share our ideas with you! Leandra

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ