Tuesday, 29 September 2020

2020 Topic #17 Night And Day Journal Cover with ZA (by Jenny Marples)

    2020 Topic 17: Day And Night


Day turns to night oh so gradually and Jenny has reproduced this effect using paints in a cleverly conceived ombre way. Such an effective technique to use as a background to then add some wonderful painted houses onto.
~ Keren.

Hi everyone, it's Jenny Marples with you today, and I'd like to share with you a Journal Cover featuring the wonderful and quirky houses by Zinski Art for the current theme.

The theme 'Day and Night' lends itself perfectly to the creation of ombre effects depicting the change in light from daytime to night time. Adding a pop of colour on top of a monochromatic background is really effective as can be seen from the finished cover below.


Here's a closer look at the front of the cover, the view at evening to night time...


 and here's the back of the cover, the view from morning to afternoon.



Here are the steps taken to create this cover, starting with the assembly of the cover itself, (cut from thick board using Eileen Hull's 'Journal' Die). I painted directly onto the board having divided it with pencil lines into four equal sections. After painting each section from light to dark I went back with the same paints, dry brushing the two colours together on each 'border' to blend them.



With the paint dry I splattered gold droplets of Izink Pigment Ink by Seth Apter over the whole cover using a small paint brush.


To create the 'scene' for the houses the larger of the trees from Kay Carley's stamp set EKC31 was repeat stamped across the width of the cover using permanent black ink.



To 'ground' the trees I then stamped some of the grass and smaller flower stems from Kay Carley's stamp set EKC40 across their bases, again with permanent black ink. To give them all a little more dimension I used a grey gel pen and blended it out across the tree trunks with a wet brush.



The houses (from the Zinski Art ZA40 stamp set) were created using gel plate printed tissue paper backgrounds, made with a mix of the blues from the background and some greens and pinks seen in the photos below. Having stamped parts of each house onto the tissue backgrounds they were fussy cut and paper pieced together.





After adding the houses to the cover I heat embossed the saying from the Zinski Art ZA40 stamp set onto the front with gold embossing powder.


Below you can see how the journal cover was completed by threading some dark grey elastic through the holes to secure pages inside and to act as a closure.


Here are a couple of close ups showing the details on the front cover.



Below you can see more of the details on the back cover.



If you haven't tried creating an ombre effect with paints I highly recommend giving it a go, remembering to keep a light touch when dry brushing and blending the colours together for more effective end results. 

Thanks so much for stopping by.
Jenny

Sunday, 27 September 2020

2020 Topic #17 Wild And Free with ETS (by Claire Snowdon)

                                                      2020 Topic 17: Day And Night


Making creative decisions is often a challenge, but it's good that Claire pushed through and created a delicious double page with superb contrast. The night and day sides are highlighted by some lovely painterly effects.
~ Keren.

Hi everyone, it's Claire Snowdon here with you today, and I'd like to share with you a journal page I created using the current topic of Day and Night.

This topic really challenged my creative thinking!  It took me a while to get this idea of a double page spread into my mind's eye so that I could show both night and day on the same spread, so I'm hoping you like what I came up with!


I used my square 8x8 Dylusions journal as I felt a square page would be better suited to my idea.  I started by making a circle in the centre and then creating the 'day side' of the page and the 'night side' of the page.

For the day side I used Paperartsy Fresco Finish paints in BananaTangerine TwistSmoked PaprikaTango and Red Lipstick.



Then for the night side I used CeruleanEggplantPea CoatMidnight and Little Black Dress.




To add more depth to the pages I went in with the splatter - white Posca Pen on the night page and PaperArtsy Fresco Gold paint on the day side.

I also added some shading around my circle and the page crease using a Stabilo All pencil in black.


Next for all the stamped elements - I used PaperArtsy Eclectic Tracy Scott stamps from sets ETS01ETS29 and ETS43.




Everything was stamped using Versafine BlackOnyx, fussy cut and a very small amount of pale colour added.  On the feathers I used a small amount of Fresco Finish Aqua Duck EggSlate on the border and some watercolour pens on the flowers.


For my circle with the quote I chose only to edge in using Distress Black Soot.


I added all the stamped images to my pages - then just added a final bit of shading here and there and a Distress Black Soot border around the whole page to frame it.


Considering it took me a little while to get my thoughts in order for this page I am so pleased with how it turned out!  I think it really represents my own ideas of night being soothing and restful versus the warmth and floral elements of the daylight hours.
This quote on ETS29 is one of my all time favourites and I felt it really summed up my whole page and brought the two sides together.  I do hope you also join in with this topic and reflect on what day and night can mean to you too.

Thank you as always for looking,

 

PaperArtsy Relocation News


We are in the throes of relocating our business from England to France. Please be aware from August 10 through October 1st, both the PaperArtsy retail and wholesale websites are in hibernation mode while we pack, move and unpack. This means you can view our websites, but you cannot proceed through checkout.
 
As always, we ask that you support our stockists (listed below) if you need to get your hands on supplies. They are well stocked and prepared for this period. If you are not sure where to start, join our facebook Group, PaperArtsy People where a stockist will link you to their store for any given product.
 
PaperArtsy Retailers - I recently created a private Facebook group just for you so we can communicate to you with ease until we have email, internet etc up and running in France, so make sure to PM me for an invite.

Australia
Bella Paperie, Brendale, Queensland, www.bellapaperie.net.au
Bev's Cross Crafts, Spreyton, Tasmania https://www.bevscrosscrafts.com.au/
Crafters Cupboard, Berwick, Victoria www.crafterscupboard.com.au
Memories on the Murray, Murray Bridge, SA  https://www.memoriesonthemurray.net/
Scrap Matrix, Port Elliot, South Australia http://scrapmatrix.com/
Scrapbook Superstore & More South Penrith, NSW https://www.scrapbooksuperstore.com.au/
The Scrapbooker's Confetti Box, Swansea,NSW https://thescrapbookersconfettibox.com/
The Thread Studio, 6 Smith Street, Perth http://www.thethreadstudio.com/
The Scrapbook Store, North Perth,WA http://thescrapbookstore.com.au/ 
Time To Create, Modanville, NSW www.timetocreate.com.au

Belgium
Cart N Scrap Art, Antwerp, cartnscrap@gmail.com
Cotrain, Kontich, www.cotrain.be
Expression Hobby, Marcinelle www.expressionhobby.be

Canada
Clipper Street Scrapbook Company, Langley, BC. www.clipperstreet.com
Paper Art Creations Inc, Leduc, Alberta, http://www.paperartcreations.com/
Scrapbook Centrale, Dollard Des Ormeaux, Quebec www.scrapbookcentrale.ca
Simply Scrapbooking, Prince George, BC https://www.facebook.com/simplyscrapbooking/
Scrap Addicts, Edmonton, Alberta https://www.scrapaddicts.ca/
Scrap and Bean, Edmonton, Alberta http://scrapandbean.com/ 
Scrapbooking Fairies, Drayton Valley, Alberta https://www.scrapbookingfairies.com/
The Paper & ink Boutique, Calgary, Alberta https://www.paperandinkboutique.com/
The Scrap Yard, Calgary, Alberta, https://www.thescrapyardcalgary.com/ 

Denmark
Hobbyboden Scrapworld Samso www.hobbyboden.dk

France
Eirl Bancon Cartoscrap, Midi Pyrenees, https://www.cartoscrap.com/blog/
Horizon Creatif, Ste Jalle h.creatif@gmail.com
Katzelkraft, Ingwiller http://www.katzelkraft.fr/en/
Kerglaz, Basse Goulaine, https://www.kerglaz.com/  
Kerudoc Creation, St Yvi www.kerudoccreation.com
Quartier Serre Teston, Ste Jalle, hcreatif@gmail.com
Scrap by Nini,  Uzerche, Limousin https://scrapbynini.fr/ 
Scrapo'naturel, Tourville La Riviere, www.scraponaturel.fr/livraison 
Toutencolle, Dun sur Avon www.toutencolle.fr

Germany
Paperbasics, Hessen, www.paperbasics.de
Stempelbar, Berlin, www.stempelbar.de
Stempeloase Munich, Munich www.stempeloase.de
Stempelfee Shop, Hilden www.stempelfee-shop.de
Stempellaedle, Stuttgart, www.stempellaedle.de/shop

Greece
Scraps N Pieces, Kallithea www.scrapsnpieces.gr

Italy
Immagine SAS di Rapaccini, Rome, www.immaginelab.com
Il Negozio Della Mamma Di Cle, Torino, clelia27@liberio.it
L'artistica Glo, Cinisello B (Mi), www.artisticaglo.it
Marte Savona, Savona, www.martesavona.it
Pezze E Colori, Lissone, http://www.pezzeecolori.it/ 
Piccole Passioni, Siena, www.piccolepassioni.it
Scrap it Easy, Rome, https://www.scrapiteasy.com/it/

Japan
Tiny Dots, Funabashi-shi, Chiba www.facebook.com/TinyDots

Netherlands
Doe@ding,Spijkenisse https://doeading.nl/
Hobbycompleet de Duif, Leeuwarden www.hobbycompleet.nl
Stampingcorner, Capelle Aan Den Ijssel www.stampingcorner.nl

Norway
Hobbygarasjen, Kopervik, www.Hobbygarasjen.no
Hobbykunst, Rasta, www.hobbykunst-norge.no
Scrapbookengros AS, Kleppe www.hobbylageret.no

Spain
Arts & Crafts, Barcelona, pebdesign@hotmail.es
Cien por Cien Manualidades, S.L., Bizkaia, Catalunya,  www.100x100manualidades.es
Endulze & Crista S.L, Pampalona, Navarra,  www.endulze.com
Ideas 10 Manualidades Y Scrapbook, Bilbao https://ideas10manualidades.com/
Marakiscrap, Tarragona, www.marakiscrap.com
MundoMint, Sabadell, Barcelona, www.mundomint.es
Scrap & Papers Experiences, Barcelona, Info@casonadequintana.com
Scraphouse S.L. Barcelona www.scraphouseshop.es
The Paradise Corner, Barcelona, www.facebook.com/theparadisecorner 

South Africa
Kcraft Imports Ltd, Centurion, www.kcraft.co.za
Stencil Art, Gauteng, www.stencil-art.co.za 

Sweden
Butik Elva, Staffanstorp, https://www.butikelva.se/
HC Design, Svedala, www.hcdesign.nu

Taiwan
Mandy's Cards, Taipei www.facebook.com/mandy.card

United Kingdom
A Trip Down Memory Lane, Ipswich, Suffolk, http://www.atripdownmemorylane.co.uk
Aldridge Crafts, Attleborough, Norfolk www.aldridgecrafts.co.uk
Amelia's Creative Crafts, Studley, Warwickshire  www.ameliascreativecrafts.co.uk
Art from the Heart, Harrogate, Yorkshire www.afth.co.uk
Blade Rubber Stamps, London www.bladerubberstamps.co.uk
Countryview Crafts, Potton, Bedfordshire www.countryviewcrafts.co.uk
Crafts at The Malthouse, Herstmonceux,  East Sussex, http://www.themalthouse.co.uk/
Craftrange, Burnley, Lancs, https://www.craftrange.com/
Fave Rave, Stourbridge, West Midlands www.shabbychicstencils.co.uk
Handmade at Helen's, Dumfries, Scotland, https://www.handmadeathelens.co.uk/
Hixxysoft, Frome, Somerset, https://www.hixxysoft.com/
Loobi Crafts, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, www.loobicrafts.co.uk
Papermaze, Ipswich, Suffolk www.papermaze.co.uk
Stampers Grove, Springbank, Lilliesleaf, Melrose,Scotland www.stampersgrove.co.uk
That's Crafty
, Romford, essex www.thatscrafty.co.uk
The Artistic Stamper Craft Store, Faversham, Kent www.theartisticstamper.com
The Crafty Cafe, 
Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffs, 
http://www.thecraftycafe.co.uk/
The Craft Room, Newcastle-Under-Lyme, Staffs https://www.garnersgardencentre.co.uk/crafts/
The Craft Studio, St Austell, Cornwall https://www.facebook.com/thecraftstudio/
The Forget me not Kraft Kabin www.TheForgetMeNotKraftKabin.co.uk


USA
Annie G Studio, Chula Vista, CA https://www.anniegstudio.com/
Art Anthology, Huntington Beach, CA http://artanthologyinc.com/
Artistic Artifacts, Alexandria, VA https://www.artisticartifacts.com/
Artistic Studio Creations, Fayetteville, Georgia www.facebook.com/ASCbyCrystal
Artistree Workshops, Fulton, New York, www.facebook.com/artistreeworkshops
Big Mouth Scrappers, Forney, Texas, https://www.bigmouthscrapperstx.com/ 
Craftiness, Chatsworth, CA, https://www.craftinessonline.com/
Creative Inkling, Hatnboro, PA https://www.creativeinkling.com/
Ephemera Paducah, Paducah, Kentucky www.ephemerapaducah.com
Everything Scrapbook & Stamps, Lake Worth, Florida www.everythingscrapbook.com
Frantic Stamper, Oregon www.franticstamper.com
Free Heart LLC, Denver, Colarado, http://www.freeheartllc.com/
Golden Hills PaperCrafts, Fairfax Station, Virginia, https://www.goldenshillpapercrafts.com/
Guadalupe's Fun Rubber Stamps, Santa Fe, New Mexico www.santafe.com
Joggles, West Warwick, Rhode Island, www.joggles.com
PaperCraft Clubhouse, Westbrook, Connecticut, http://papercraftclubhouse.com/
Paper Parachute Art Design Co., Beaverton, Oregon www.paperparachute.com
Runaway, Art & Craft Studio, NE Salem, Oregon http://www.runawayart.com/
Scrapbook N Memories, Harrisonville, Missouri, https://www.scrapbooknmemories.net/
Simon Says Stamp, Columbus, Ohio www. simonsaysstamp.com
The Artistic Palette Studio, Eugene, OR, http://www.artistspalette.com/studio/
The Crafty Scrapper, Waxahachie, TX http://www.thecraftyscrapper.com/
The Doodlebug Inc, Jasper, IN, https://www.thedoodlebuginc.com/
The Ink Pad, New York, www.theinkpadnyc.com
The Queen's Ink Savage, Maryland www.queensink.com
Topflight Stamps, Irmo, South Carolina https://topflightstamps.com/
Stamp Fever, Orange, California www.stpstamp.com
Valley Stamp & Scrap LLC, Neenah, Wisconsin, https://www.valleystampandscrap.com/

Our brand is only available from established stockists who are VAT/ GST/ sales tax registered and for whom product education is a core principle. We would rather supply a few hand selected stockists, than the greater masses. If you would like to apply to be a stockist, you can find our more about our supply criteria here

PaperArtsy Links
Facebook Group PaperArtsy People
Facebook Page PaperArtsy

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

About This Blog

Even though we've been blogging for quite some time only just figured out the followers button, so please follow us to hear about all that is new in the land of PaperArtsy. We'd love to share our ideas with you! Leandra

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ