Sunday, 30 August 2020

2020 #15 A Whiter Shade of Pale with Lynne Perrella stamps {by LUCY Edmondson}

2020 Topic 15: Shades Of White


Lucy worked her way through this challenging topic to produce lots of elements and ideas to incorporate onto her canvas. The details of the Lynne Perrella stamps are always gorgeously intricate, and the natural fabric of the substrate provide the perfect frame to this piece too.
~ Leandra

Hi everyone, it's Lucy here from Lucy's True Colours blog sharing with you today a canvas for the Shades of White theme using stamps from the Lynne Perrella collection.

When Leandra first asked me if I would make something for this theme, I wasn't too sure I could pull it off. She said, go on, give it a go, others have tried it and have really enjoyed it. I was persuaded because it was working with what Leandra knows is my favourite of her stamp collections, Lynne Perrella. The reason for my doubts is first of all I am one of those people who is very literal that white isn't a colour. White is just white. Except when it comes to doing the washing of course. If a red sock gets in with a white wash, I reserve the right for white to be anything all the way through to pink! Secondly, I wasn't sure how I was going to make items stand out, especially my focal image. How am I going to differentiate one item from another if they are all the same colour? How do I do justice to the lovely stamps?


 So, going back to the washing analogy, I thought about clothes. Why is it we are told 'don't do double denim'. Well, I don't know why the experts tell us that, but when we wear all one colour, we are still generally wearing a range of different textures: leather, silk, cotton, denim, corduroy, velvet, wool. So I went through my stash to find as many surfaces to stamp on as possible so that I wasn't just using cardstock, because colour always looks slightly different in a different texture or substrate. I found ribbon, shrink plastic, a metal tag, clay, a glassine envelope, and some acrylic tags. For decoration I found doilies, buttons, and cheesecloth, and many more items.

My other approach to the task was to swatch all the neutral shades of Fresco paint I have. I picked out Nougat, which is a lovely shade for pale flesh tones as it is slightly pink, working left to right in my picture, then Vanilla, which is very yellow toned, like a delicious custard, then Concrete, which as the name suggests has a definite touch of grey, then Stone which is more beige toned, then Cloud 9, a new one which is very close to pure white, then Buff which is darker and warmer toned than Stone, then Chalk, which I have used a lot for a long time and is an off white, and then Honey Dew, which is a really interesting cream with a hint of green, almost a very pale khaki. I used these pieces to stamp my images on so that I had a range of different 'Shades of White'.


I started off with a rectangular hessian canvas, painting it almost to the edges with Fresco Finish Acrylic paint in Snowflake, which is a perfect bright white opaque.


I then used Fresco in Stone through a gorgeous stencil by Scrapcosy PA108. There are three designs on this stencil and the one I chose I felt looked a little like a tiny fleur de lys, which I thought would go with the rather French shabby chic style I had in mind. I then added two text stamps from Lynne Perrella LPC014 and LPC028 in StazOn Stone Grey and Dove Grey, which I thought would be softer for the theme than black.


Now for some background images. I started off with some Kraft card and used white detail embossing powder with the delicate feathers from LPC007 and the crown from LPC003.


I then prepared some additional images, not all of which I was able to use in the end as they made the canvas too cluttered. Starting from the left, going clockwise I used the post card image from LPC003 and then the keys from LPC010
 
 
I then stamped a glassine envelope in the same way I did the canvas background, along with the postmark from LPC010. I stamped the doll image from LPC030 in StazOn Dove Grey, to link in with the imagery of the 'Charlotte' doll. 
 

I then stamped a Kraft tag with the crown stamp from LPC014 and added some twine for texture, and a metal tag embossed with the word 'Dream' from Tracy Scott's Eclectica ETS30, and painted a little bulldog clip with Fresco Finish in Snowflake.
 
 
 
As an additional texture, I wanted to use some shrink plastic, so I sanded a piece of white shrink with a sanding block and stamped the two dolls from LPC042 using StazOn Dove Gray.
 
 
 
I had in mind that they would be a little bit like Charlotte dolls that had been dug up and added to the composition. I have a beautiful frame mould which I knew I wanted to make up in clay as my focal point, and I thought using shrink plastic would enable me to make best use of the small aperture, so that my main image would still be one of the larger images from the Lynne Perrella sets. I wanted the overall look of the piece to be sort of French, shabby chic, feathers and scrolls to go with the mouldings on the frame, so I chose the lady from LPC035.


Finally I prepared a piece of cream canvas textured ribbon to go around my canvas in a bow. I used StazOn in Cloudy Sky to stamp the Crown, Feathers, Keys, and Postmark at intervals along it on both sides. I really enjoyed this and felt it framed the final piece.


Here is a close up of what I have termed the Charlotte doll, in shrink plastic.


To put the canvas together, I adhered the shrink plastic lady figure behind the clay frame and used a strong gel medium to glue them both in the centre of the canvas. I tucked one of the feathers and the postmark behind as shown, and tucked the doll image under a little piece of cheesecloth for added texture. I adhered the shrink plastic doll bottom left. To finish off, I added some vintage buttons at the bottom of the canvas.


I really enjoyed making this project. It was so different to the last project I made. I was disappointed not to be able to squeeze on all the items I had prepared but I have been able to make a second matching canvas and some cards to go with them, and there's no point in ruining a project by piling too much on. It was very thought provoking to spend time considering how to approach the challenge, and what it meant to me.
Twitter: CraftyLuce 

 
PaperArtsy Relocation News
 
We are in the throes of relocating our business from England to France. Please be aware from August 10 through October 1st, both the PaperArtsy retail and wholesale websites are in hibernation mode while we pack, move and unpack. This means you can view our websites, but you cannot proceed through checkout.
 
As always, we ask that you support our stockists (listed below) if you need to get your hands on supplies. They are well stocked and prepared for this period. If you are not sure where to start, join our facebook Group, PaperArtsy People where a stockist will link you to their store for any given product.
 
PaperArtsy Retailers - I recently created a private Facebook group just for you so we can communicate to you with ease until we have email, internet etc up and running in France, so make sure to PM me for an invite.

Australia
Bella Paperie, Brendale, Queensland, www.bellapaperie.net.au
Bev's Cross Crafts, Spreyton, Tasmania https://www.bevscrosscrafts.com.au/
Crafters Cupboard, Berwick, Victoria www.crafterscupboard.com.au
Memories on the Murray, Murray Bridge, SA  https://www.memoriesonthemurray.net/
Scrap Matrix, Port Elliot, South Australia http://scrapmatrix.com/
Scrapbook Superstore & More South Penrith, NSW https://www.scrapbooksuperstore.com.au/
The Scrapbooker's Confetti Box, Swansea,NSW https://thescrapbookersconfettibox.com/
The Thread Studio, 6 Smith Street, Perth http://www.thethreadstudio.com/
The Scrapbook Store, North Perth,WA http://thescrapbookstore.com.au/ 
Time To Create, Modanville, NSW www.timetocreate.com.au

Belgium
Cart N Scrap Art, Antwerp, cartnscrap@gmail.com
Cotrain, Kontich, www.cotrain.be
Expression Hobby, Marcinelle www.expressionhobby.be

Canada
Clipper Street Scrapbook Company, Langley, BC. www.clipperstreet.com
Paper Art Creations Inc, Leduc, Alberta, http://www.paperartcreations.com/
Scrapbook Centrale, Dollard Des Ormeaux, Quebec www.scrapbookcentrale.ca
Simply Scrapbooking, Prince George, BC https://www.facebook.com/simplyscrapbooking/
Scrap Addicts, Edmonton, Alberta https://www.scrapaddicts.ca/
Scrap and Bean, Edmonton, Alberta http://scrapandbean.com/ 
Scrapbooking Fairies, Drayton Valley, Alberta https://www.scrapbookingfairies.com/
The Paper & ink Boutique, Calgary, Alberta https://www.paperandinkboutique.com/
The Scrap Yard, Calgary, Alberta, https://www.thescrapyardcalgary.com/ 

Denmark
Hobbyboden Scrapworld Samso www.hobbyboden.dk

France
Eirl Bancon Cartoscrap, Midi Pyrenees, https://www.cartoscrap.com/blog/
Horizon Creatif, Ste Jalle h.creatif@gmail.com
Katzelkraft, Ingwiller http://www.katzelkraft.fr/en/
Kerglaz, Basse Goulaine, https://www.kerglaz.com/  
Kerudoc Creation, St Yvi www.kerudoccreation.com
Quartier Serre Teston, Ste Jalle, hcreatif@gmail.com
Scrap by Nini,  Uzerche, Limousin https://scrapbynini.fr/ 
Scrapo'naturel, Tourville La Riviere, www.scraponaturel.fr/livraison 
Toutencolle, Dun sur Avon www.toutencolle.fr

Germany
Paperbasics, Hessen, www.paperbasics.de
Stempelbar, Berlin, www.stempelbar.de
Stempeloase Munich, Munich www.stempeloase.de
Stempelfee Shop, Hilden www.stempelfee-shop.de
Stempellaedle, Stuttgart, www.stempellaedle.de/shop

Greece
Scraps N Pieces, Kallithea www.scrapsnpieces.gr

Italy
Immagine SAS di Rapaccini, Rome, www.immaginelab.com
Il Negozio Della Mamma Di Cle, Torino, clelia27@liberio.it
L'artistica Glo, Cinisello B (Mi), www.artisticaglo.it
Marte Savona, Savona, www.martesavona.it
Pezze E Colori, Lissone, http://www.pezzeecolori.it/
Piccole Passioni, Siena, www.piccolepassioni.it
Scrap it Easy, Rome, https://www.scrapiteasy.com/it/

Japan
Tiny Dots, Funabashi-shi, Chiba www.facebook.com/TinyDots

Netherlands
Doe@ding,Spijkenisse https://doeading.nl/
Hobbycompleet de Duif, Leeuwarden www.hobbycompleet.nl
Stampingcorner, Capelle Aan Den Ijssel www.stampingcorner.nl

Norway
Hobbygarasjen, Kopervik, www.Hobbygarasjen.no
Hobbykunst, Rasta, www.hobbykunst-norge.no
Scrapbookengros AS, Kleppe www.hobbylageret.no

Spain
Arts & Crafts, Barcelona, pebdesign@hotmail.es
Cien por Cien Manualidades, S.L., Bizkaia, Catalunya,  www.100x100manualidades.es
Endulze & Crista S.L, Pampalona, Navarra,  www.endulze.com
Ideas 10 Manualidades Y Scrapbook, Bilbao https://ideas10manualidades.com/
Marakiscrap, Tarragona, www.marakiscrap.com
MundoMint, Sabadell, Barcelona, www.mundomint.es
Scrap & Papers Experiences, Barcelona, Info@casonadequintana.com
Scraphouse S.L. Barcelona www.scraphouseshop.es
The Paradise Corner, Barcelona, www.facebook.com/theparadisecorner 

South Africa
Kcraft Imports Ltd, Centurion, www.kcraft.co.za
Stencil Art, Gauteng, www.stencil-art.co.za 

Sweden
Butik Elva, Staffanstorp, https://www.butikelva.se/
HC Design, Svedala, www.hcdesign.nu

Taiwan
Mandy's Cards, Taipei www.facebook.com/mandy.card

United Kingdom
A Trip Down Memory Lane, Ipswich, Suffolk, http://www.atripdownmemorylane.co.uk
Aldridge Crafts, Attleborough, Norfolk www.aldridgecrafts.co.uk
Amelia's Creative Crafts, Studley, Warwickshire  www.ameliascreativecrafts.co.uk
Art from the Heart, Harrogate, Yorkshire www.afth.co.uk
Blade Rubber Stamps, London www.bladerubberstamps.co.uk
Countryview Crafts, Potton, Bedfordshire www.countryviewcrafts.co.uk
Crafts at The Malthouse, Herstmonceux,  East Sussex, http://www.themalthouse.co.uk/
Craftrange, Burnley, Lancs, https://www.craftrange.com/
Fave Rave, Stourbridge, West Midlands www.shabbychicstencils.co.uk
Handmade at Helen's, Dumfries, Scotland, https://www.handmadeathelens.co.uk/
Hixxysoft, Frome, Somerset, https://www.hixxysoft.com/
Loobi Crafts, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, www.loobicrafts.co.uk
Papermaze, Ipswich, Suffolk www.papermaze.co.uk
Stampers Grove, Springbank, Lilliesleaf, Melrose,Scotland www.stampersgrove.co.uk
That's Crafty
, Romford, essex www.thatscrafty.co.uk
The Artistic Stamper Craft Store, Faversham, Kent www.theartisticstamper.com
The Crafty Cafe,
Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffs,
http://www.thecraftycafe.co.uk/
The Craft Room, Newcastle-Under-Lyme, Staffs https://www.garnersgardencentre.co.uk/crafts/
The Craft Studio, St Austell, Cornwall https://www.facebook.com/thecraftstudio/
The Forget me not Kraft Kabin www.TheForgetMeNotKraftKabin.co.uk


USA
Annie G Studio, Chula Vista, CA https://www.anniegstudio.com/
Art Anthology, Huntington Beach, CA http://artanthologyinc.com/
Artistic Artifacts, Alexandria, VA https://www.artisticartifacts.com/
Artistic Studio Creations, Fayetteville, Georgia www.facebook.com/ASCbyCrystal
Artistree Workshops, Fulton, New York, www.facebook.com/artistreeworkshops
Big Mouth Scrappers, Forney, Texas, https://www.bigmouthscrapperstx.com/ 
Craftiness, Chatsworth, CA, https://www.craftinessonline.com/
Creative Inkling, Hatnboro, PA https://www.creativeinkling.com/
Ephemera Paducah, Paducah, Kentucky www.ephemerapaducah.com
Everything Scrapbook & Stamps, Lake Worth, Florida www.everythingscrapbook.com
Frantic Stamper, Oregon www.franticstamper.com
Free Heart LLC, Denver, Colarado, http://www.freeheartllc.com/
Golden Hills PaperCrafts, Fairfax Station, Virginia, https://www.goldenshillpapercrafts.com/
Guadalupe's Fun Rubber Stamps, Santa Fe, New Mexico www.santafe.com
Joggles, West Warwick, Rhode Island, www.joggles.com
PaperCraft Clubhouse, Westbrook, Connecticut, http://papercraftclubhouse.com/
Paper Parachute Art Design Co., Beaverton, Oregon www.paperparachute.com
Runaway, Art & Craft Studio, NE Salem, Oregon http://www.runawayart.com/
Scrapbook N Memories, Harrisonville, Missouri, https://www.scrapbooknmemories.net/
Simon Says Stamp, Columbus, Ohio www. simonsaysstamp.com
The Artistic Palette Studio, Eugene, OR, http://www.artistspalette.com/studio/
The Crafty Scrapper, Waxahachie, TX http://www.thecraftyscrapper.com/
The Doodlebug Inc, Jasper, IN, https://www.thedoodlebuginc.com/
The Ink Pad, New York, www.theinkpadnyc.com
The Queen's Ink Savage, Maryland www.queensink.com
Topflight Stamps, Irmo, South Carolina https://topflightstamps.com/
Stamp Fever, Orange, California www.stpstamp.com
Valley Stamp & Scrap LLC, Neenah, Wisconsin, https://www.valleystampandscrap.com/

Our brand is only available from established stockists who are VAT/ GST/ sales tax registered and for whom product education is a core principle. We would rather supply a few hand selected stockists, than the greater masses. If you would like to apply to be a stockist, you can find our more about our supply criteria here

PaperArtsy Links
Facebook Group PaperArtsy People
Facebook Page PaperArtsy


4 comments:

butterfly said...

Love the burlap surface and how your eye is drawn straight to the framed image in the centre and then gradually discovers all the other details. The feathers are fabulous, and I'm sure the others will look great wherever they are used.
Alison x

Helen said...

Love the white against the hessian. That frame draws the eye straight in - did you make it with air dry light clay? Going to have to get my moulds out!

Miriam said...

This is wonderful Lucy... I love your different shades. Awesome!

Anonymous said...

bismil

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

About This Blog

Even though we've been blogging for quite some time only just figured out the followers button, so please follow us to hear about all that is new in the land of PaperArtsy. We'd love to share our ideas with you! Leandra

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ