Tuesday, 25 August 2020

2020 #15 Yearning with Ink and the Dog Collection {by Corrie Herriman}

 2020 Topic 15: Shades Of White



Corrie has headed away from her usual love for bright colours and thrown herself into this topic with great aplomb. You'd never know she wasn't used to doing a monochrome palette as this is fresh and serene with lots of great textural details.
~ Keren

Hi everyone, it's Corrie with you today, and for the 'Shades Of White' topic I'd like to share with you a wall decoration. I had to have a long think about this topic as I am not very well known for 'shades of white' or subtlety; I am more a bright colours person but I thought it would be a good way to challenge myself. 

Because I felt that I couldn't achieve a lot of impact with just white-ish paints and stamps for this topic, I thought it would be a good idea to use 'odds and sods' in different shades of white i.e. pieces of different papers, ribbons, lace, beads etc. So that is what I did and here is the result:


I normally don't use a lot of these materials, frankly because they are scattered around in my room in different boxes but also because I simply never think about them. I often just grab paints and stencils and stamps. I did enjoy doing something different and here is how:


I found an Ikea Frame in my stash that I thought was great for this project. I took out the passepartout and decided I wanted to have polka dots. To achieve the dots I used a Tim Holtz Blending tool that I dipped into the PaperArtsy Fresco Finish Chalk Acrylics and then pressed it randomly onto the passe partout. I used the colours : {Cloud 9}, almost invisible on the photo, {Eggshell} and {Concrete}.   I did want some colour in my project but kept it down by using these very light colours. When the paint was dry I added some stamping using PaperArtsy Ink and the Dog Backgrounds 5 {BG5}
 




These were some of the odds and sods I was talking about. I didn't even use all of it. It is a great way of getting rid of all the bits you collect over the years with the intention of using them up and usually end up in a box, never to be seen again ! 


I placed some of the stuff in clusters at the right hand bottom of the passepartout and some on the other side more to the top to balance it. To remember how I wanted it to look in the end I took a photo as reference. I then took everything off and glued it down in place one by one. 


Here is the result. I think it turned out quite nice. Later I added some more pieces to make it look even better.  


I used a brayer and the same colour PaperArtsy Fresco Finish Chalk Acrylics again to make a little background for my main image. This will be placed in the hole of the passepartout. 


Next I stamped everything I wanted to use still, again I used {BG5} and a second Ink and the Dog set called Femme 3 {F3}. I didn't use the eyes in the end. I also changed my mind about the lady and decided I wanted her in the middle of the piece of paper so I cut off a piece of this panel on the right and reattached it on the left with a piece of ribbon in between to make it look intentional. 
 


So, I added two of the sentiments to the passepartout; 'fascination' on the top right and 'lust' at the bottom right cluster where I also added a Marlene Dietrich postage stamp I found in my stash. After I put the middle piece of paper back together I added stamping to the left with {BG5}, piece of book paper and lastly I added the word 'yearning' as a main sentiment for my lady. To make it stand out more I glued it onto some book paper first. 


After I was happy with it I declared it done and put it into the frame !!



I really enjoyed making this, it is nice to do something that you normally don't do. We all get into a rut sometimes and end up doing the same things over and over again. It was great to use paint in a different way i.e. not applying with a brush or fingers. It was also great to think and decide about where to put things to make it look pretty.  I hope you will have a rummage through your craft space and see what you come up with. You wouldn't even have to stick with white. You could collect bits that are different shades of yellow or blue or purple; combine with similar paint colours and have fun. 

Thank you for stopping by today ! I hope you enjoyed my process and that you come and see me at my other locations too:


PaperArtsy Relocation News 
 
We are in the throes of relocating our business from England to France. Please be aware from August 10 through October 1st, both the PaperArtsy retail and wholesale websites are in hibernation mode while we pack, move and unpack. This means you can view our websites, but you cannot proceed through checkout.
 
As always, we ask that you support our stockists (listed below) if you need to get your hands on supplies. They are well stocked and prepared for this period. If you are not sure where to start, join our facebook Group, PaperArtsy People where a stockist will link you to their store for any given product.
 
PaperArtsy Retailers - I recently created a private Facebook group just for you so we can communicate to you with ease until we have email, internet etc up and running in France, so make sure to PM me for an invite.

Australia
Bella Paperie, Brendale, Queensland, www.bellapaperie.net.au
Bev's Cross Crafts, Spreyton, Tasmania https://www.bevscrosscrafts.com.au/
Crafters Cupboard, Berwick, Victoria www.crafterscupboard.com.au
Memories on the Murray, Murray Bridge, SA  https://www.memoriesonthemurray.net/
Scrap Matrix, Port Elliot, South Australia http://scrapmatrix.com/
Scrapbook Superstore & More South Penrith, NSW https://www.scrapbooksuperstore.com.au/
The Scrapbooker's Confetti Box, Swansea,NSW https://thescrapbookersconfettibox.com/
The Thread Studio, 6 Smith Street, Perth http://www.thethreadstudio.com/
The Scrapbook Store, North Perth,WA http://thescrapbookstore.com.au/ 
Time To Create, Modanville, NSW www.timetocreate.com.au

Belgium
Cart N Scrap Art, Antwerp, cartnscrap@gmail.com
Cotrain, Kontich, www.cotrain.be
Expression Hobby, Marcinelle www.expressionhobby.be

Canada
Clipper Street Scrapbook Company, Langley, BC. www.clipperstreet.com
Paper Art Creations Inc, Leduc, Alberta, http://www.paperartcreations.com/
Scrapbook Centrale, Dollard Des Ormeaux, Quebec www.scrapbookcentrale.ca
Simply Scrapbooking, Prince George, BC https://www.facebook.com/simplyscrapbooking/
Scrap Addicts, Edmonton, Alberta https://www.scrapaddicts.ca/
Scrap and Bean, Edmonton, Alberta http://scrapandbean.com/ 
Scrapbooking Fairies, Drayton Valley, Alberta https://www.scrapbookingfairies.com/
The Paper & ink Boutique, Calgary, Alberta https://www.paperandinkboutique.com/
The Scrap Yard, Calgary, Alberta, https://www.thescrapyardcalgary.com/ 

Denmark
Hobbyboden Scrapworld Samso www.hobbyboden.dk

France
Eirl Bancon Cartoscrap, Midi Pyrenees, https://www.cartoscrap.com/blog/
Horizon Creatif, Ste Jalle h.creatif@gmail.com
Katzelkraft, Ingwiller http://www.katzelkraft.fr/en/
Kerglaz, Basse Goulaine, https://www.kerglaz.com/  
Kerudoc Creation, St Yvi www.kerudoccreation.com
Quartier Serre Teston, Ste Jalle, hcreatif@gmail.com
Scrap by Nini,  Uzerche, Limousin https://scrapbynini.fr/ 
Scrapo'naturel, Tourville La Riviere, www.scraponaturel.fr/livraison 
Toutencolle, Dun sur Avon www.toutencolle.fr

Germany
Paperbasics, Hessen, www.paperbasics.de
Stempelbar, Berlin, www.stempelbar.de
Stempeloase Munich, Munich www.stempeloase.de
Stempelfee Shop, Hilden www.stempelfee-shop.de
Stempellaedle, Stuttgart, www.stempellaedle.de/shop

Greece
Scraps N Pieces, Kallithea www.scrapsnpieces.gr

Italy
Immagine SAS di Rapaccini, Rome, www.immaginelab.com
Il Negozio Della Mamma Di Cle, Torino, clelia27@liberio.it
L'artistica Glo, Cinisello B (Mi), www.artisticaglo.it
Marte Savona, Savona, www.martesavona.it
Pezze E Colori, Lissone, http://www.pezzeecolori.it/ 
Piccole Passioni, Siena, www.piccolepassioni.it
Scrap it Easy, Rome, https://www.scrapiteasy.com/it/

Japan
Tiny Dots, Funabashi-shi, Chiba www.facebook.com/TinyDots

Netherlands
Doe@ding,Spijkenisse https://doeading.nl/
Hobbycompleet de Duif, Leeuwarden www.hobbycompleet.nl
Stampingcorner, Capelle Aan Den Ijssel www.stampingcorner.nl

Norway
Hobbygarasjen, Kopervik, www.Hobbygarasjen.no
Hobbykunst, Rasta, www.hobbykunst-norge.no
Scrapbookengros AS, Kleppe www.hobbylageret.no

Spain
Arts & Crafts, Barcelona, pebdesign@hotmail.es
Cien por Cien Manualidades, S.L., Bizkaia, Catalunya,  www.100x100manualidades.es
Endulze & Crista S.L, Pampalona, Navarra,  www.endulze.com
Ideas 10 Manualidades Y Scrapbook, Bilbao https://ideas10manualidades.com/
Marakiscrap, Tarragona, www.marakiscrap.com
MundoMint, Sabadell, Barcelona, www.mundomint.es
Scrap & Papers Experiences, Barcelona, Info@casonadequintana.com
Scraphouse S.L. Barcelona www.scraphouseshop.es
The Paradise Corner, Barcelona, www.facebook.com/theparadisecorner 

South Africa
Kcraft Imports Ltd, Centurion, www.kcraft.co.za
Stencil Art, Gauteng, www.stencil-art.co.za 

Sweden
Butik Elva, Staffanstorp, https://www.butikelva.se/
HC Design, Svedala, www.hcdesign.nu

Taiwan
Mandy's Cards, Taipei www.facebook.com/mandy.card

United Kingdom
A Trip Down Memory Lane, Ipswich, Suffolk, http://www.atripdownmemorylane.co.uk
Aldridge Crafts, Attleborough, Norfolk www.aldridgecrafts.co.uk
Amelia's Creative Crafts, Studley, Warwickshire  www.ameliascreativecrafts.co.uk
Art from the Heart, Harrogate, Yorkshire www.afth.co.uk
Blade Rubber Stamps, London www.bladerubberstamps.co.uk
Countryview Crafts, Potton, Bedfordshire www.countryviewcrafts.co.uk
Crafts at The Malthouse, Herstmonceux,  East Sussex, http://www.themalthouse.co.uk/
Craftrange, Burnley, Lancs, https://www.craftrange.com/
Fave Rave, Stourbridge, West Midlands www.shabbychicstencils.co.uk
Handmade at Helen's, Dumfries, Scotland, https://www.handmadeathelens.co.uk/
Hixxysoft, Frome, Somerset, https://www.hixxysoft.com/
Loobi Crafts, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, www.loobicrafts.co.uk
Papermaze, Ipswich, Suffolk www.papermaze.co.uk
Stampers Grove, Springbank, Lilliesleaf, Melrose,Scotland www.stampersgrove.co.uk
That's Crafty
, Romford, essex www.thatscrafty.co.uk
The Artistic Stamper Craft Store, Faversham, Kent www.theartisticstamper.com
The Crafty Cafe, 
Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffs, 
http://www.thecraftycafe.co.uk/
The Craft Room, Newcastle-Under-Lyme, Staffs https://www.garnersgardencentre.co.uk/crafts/
The Craft Studio, St Austell, Cornwall https://www.facebook.com/thecraftstudio/
The Forget me not Kraft Kabin www.TheForgetMeNotKraftKabin.co.uk


USA
Annie G Studio, Chula Vista, CA https://www.anniegstudio.com/
Art Anthology, Huntington Beach, CA http://artanthologyinc.com/
Artistic Artifacts, Alexandria, VA https://www.artisticartifacts.com/
Artistic Studio Creations, Fayetteville, Georgia www.facebook.com/ASCbyCrystal
Artistree Workshops, Fulton, New York, www.facebook.com/artistreeworkshops
Big Mouth Scrappers, Forney, Texas, https://www.bigmouthscrapperstx.com/ 
Craftiness, Chatsworth, CA, https://www.craftinessonline.com/
Creative Inkling, Hatnboro, PA https://www.creativeinkling.com/
Ephemera Paducah, Paducah, Kentucky www.ephemerapaducah.com
Everything Scrapbook & Stamps, Lake Worth, Florida www.everythingscrapbook.com
Frantic Stamper, Oregon www.franticstamper.com
Free Heart LLC, Denver, Colarado, http://www.freeheartllc.com/
Golden Hills PaperCrafts, Fairfax Station, Virginia, https://www.goldenshillpapercrafts.com/
Guadalupe's Fun Rubber Stamps, Santa Fe, New Mexico www.santafe.com
Joggles, West Warwick, Rhode Island, www.joggles.com
PaperCraft Clubhouse, Westbrook, Connecticut, http://papercraftclubhouse.com/
Paper Parachute Art Design Co., Beaverton, Oregon www.paperparachute.com
Runaway, Art & Craft Studio, NE Salem, Oregon http://www.runawayart.com/
Scrapbook N Memories, Harrisonville, Missouri, https://www.scrapbooknmemories.net/
Simon Says Stamp, Columbus, Ohio www. simonsaysstamp.com
The Artistic Palette Studio, Eugene, OR, http://www.artistspalette.com/studio/
The Crafty Scrapper, Waxahachie, TX http://www.thecraftyscrapper.com/
The Doodlebug Inc, Jasper, IN, https://www.thedoodlebuginc.com/
The Ink Pad, New York, www.theinkpadnyc.com
The Queen's Ink Savage, Maryland www.queensink.com
Topflight Stamps, Irmo, South Carolina https://topflightstamps.com/
Stamp Fever, Orange, California www.stpstamp.com
Valley Stamp & Scrap LLC, Neenah, Wisconsin, https://www.valleystampandscrap.com/

Our brand is only available from established stockists who are VAT/ GST/ sales tax registered and for whom product education is a core principle. We would rather supply a few hand selected stockists, than the greater masses. If you would like to apply to be a stockist, you can find our more about our supply criteria here

PaperArtsy Links
Facebook Group PaperArtsy People
Facebook Page PaperArtsy



5 comments:

Kathi said...

It's fantastic with so many different textures, pale shades, wonderful details, and a great design.

Thank you for sharing your creative process.

P.S. You handled this out-of-your-box challenge so admirably! Kudos!

Helen said...

I love this piece!!

Miriam said...

This is beautiful Corrie

Lucy Edmondson said...

Beautiful project, Corrie!x

butterfly said...

Wonderful shades of white and textures and details, Corrie - great to see how you handled this challenge so beautifully.
Alison x

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

About This Blog

Even though we've been blogging for quite some time only just figured out the followers button, so please follow us to hear about all that is new in the land of PaperArtsy. We'd love to share our ideas with you! Leandra

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ