Sunday, 23 August 2020

2020 #15 Topic Introduction: Shades of White

 

 2020 Topic 15: Shades of White


Hi everyone, Keren here with a pretty tricky but oh, so beautiful topic: Shades of White. As soon as I read the title, I immediately started humming 'Whiter Shades of Pale' and remembered a rather ancient advert by Dulux (hence the photo of the Dulux dog) introducing some rather subtle shades of white. If we are talking about shades of white in PaperArtsy's collection, then the choice is rather more vast ! We're going to do this post slightly differently by showing the different types of light and white colours in their colour families followed by a coordinating image to give you some inspiration. You couldn't describe all of these as shades of white, but I thought it would make a interesting introduction to the topic.


I do think that using mostly light colours is a challenge but as usual, plenty of our bloggers have previously risen to this challenge. Alison Bomber produced a real beauty here. Delicate, with subtle colours and using her lovely quotes.


Helen Chilton produced some gorgeous hearts using a wide range of techniques and even used tea bags. She has faint hints of blue-purples and browns.


These whites look so different; cool colours, blue greys and more 'snowflake' whites. Chris Cresswell created a wonderful triptych bursting with texture.


We are looking at all the lightest colours in the range. Going from the lightest shades to cooler and then warmer shades.

We begin with a trio of Neutrals: Chalk, Eggshell and Heavy Cream.


It's only when you get these colours and paint them next to each other, that you will see the difference. It's not easy to distinguish them on a computer screen. This gorgeous white, slightly tinted prints are incredibly delicate.


Going towards the greys we have Snowflake- the perfect all-rounder white. 


This scrapbooking page is an excellent example of just how impactful one colour can be. I say colour for ease. We know that white isn't strictly a colour because of its lack of a specific wavelength (just like black), but forgive me, we'll keep assuming it's a colour for simplicity! This page works so well because of the multiple textures that stop it looking flat and uninteresting.


Taking our focus to the cooler side, we've got the icy Grey Blue: Iceberg. It has greyer tones and is a big contender for contemporary projects plus coordinating wonderfully with all the blues, greys and purple/blues.


This artist below claims that they've created a quick and simple sketch. I'd love to do anything half as good as this, even taking a long while! Whilst it's mostly black and white, the grey tones provide great shading and make the piece so 3 dimensional.


Very light blues are up next: Antarctic, Glacier Ice & Blue Bayou. Soft blues with a cool base.


This card has all the hallmarks of wintery colours with crisp white berries and a flurry of snow.


Heading away from just blues and towards Blue-Purples, we have Periwinkle. A purple-y gentle colour.


This slide art has purple-y tones and the transparency gives a fun floating effect to the skull.





The next two are full on purples: Moonlight and Pixie Dust. Pretty shades with a real lightness.


This book page is full of movement and the purple goes so well even with more of a vanilla background. The octopus is sublime!


Changing tack completely and going on to fresher greens and highlighting the newer Fresco Willow. This stunning backsplash has whites and greeny-whites and a real transparent quality.

These next greens have a cool tone: Niagara Falls and Hint of Mint. Perfect partners!


This watercolour piece uses the transparency of watercolour really well. Those white petals really draw your eye into the piece.


Adding in more yellow, we've got the Khaki Greens and Honeydew is part of the family with a real delicacy.


It's easy to dump khakis in with muddy greens, but they don't have to be. This incredible switch cover has some of those greens nestled amongst white and blues.
Onto Browns; Cloud 9 and Nougat take centre stage. These shades are a vintage lovers delight.


This perfectly vintage inspired mini journals are breathtaking. The use of buttons, lace and ribbon is exquisite. 


The vintage look makes good use of soft pinks too. Blush is such a sweet and pretty colour.


This serene tag has a blush centre and grey / blue toned ink. Notice the fabulous texture on the tag surface. 


Having dipped our toe in charm of vintage, we're going full throttle vintage now. The lightest 'Rustic Warms' in the PaperArtsy Fresco family are Vanilla and Vintage Lace.


I wouldn't have thought to put a bright Snowflake type white with a yellow based cream like Vanilla or Vintage Lace, but it works so perfectly.


I thought as we were focusing on PaperArtsy paint colours, it might be nice to round off the introduction with another PaperArtsy designer's project. This piece by Sara Naumann has a real lightness and a mix of colours that make the white sing.


I hope this has made you want to explore white and the colours that suit it so well. Have a dig around your stash, or visit any of the PaperArtsy retailers listed below.
If you want to create along with us, please share on our social feeds so we can see what you get up to. The best places are Instagram @paperartsy or post in PaperArtsy People Group on Facebook. Make sure you tag us in your contributions, we love to see what you get up to in your creative world!


PaperArtsy Relocation News

We are in the throes of relocating our business from England to France. Please be aware from August 10 through October 1st, both the PaperArtsy retail and wholesale websites are in hibernation mode while we pack, move and unpack. This means you can view our websites, but you cannot proceed through checkout.
 
As always, we ask that you support our stockists (listed below) if you need to get your hands on supplies. They are well stocked and prepared for this period. If you are not sure where to start, join our facebook Group, PaperArtsy People where a stockist will link you to their store for any given product.
 
PaperArtsy Retailers - I recently created a private Facebook group just for you so we can communicate to you with ease until we have email, internet etc up and running in France, so make sure to PM me for an invite.

Australia
Bella Paperie, Brendale, Queensland, www.bellapaperie.net.au
Bev's Cross Crafts, Spreyton, Tasmania https://www.bevscrosscrafts.com.au/
Crafters Cupboard, Berwick, Victoria www.crafterscupboard.com.au
Memories on the Murray, Murray Bridge, SA  https://www.memoriesonthemurray.net/
Scrap Matrix, Port Elliot, South Australia http://scrapmatrix.com/
Scrapbook Superstore & More South Penrith, NSW https://www.scrapbooksuperstore.com.au/
The Scrapbooker's Confetti Box, Swansea,NSW https://thescrapbookersconfettibox.com/
The Thread Studio, 6 Smith Street, Perth http://www.thethreadstudio.com/
The Scrapbook Store, North Perth,WA http://thescrapbookstore.com.au/ 
Time To Create, Modanville, NSW www.timetocreate.com.au

Belgium
Cart N Scrap Art, Antwerp, cartnscrap@gmail.com
Cotrain, Kontich, www.cotrain.be
Expression Hobby, Marcinelle www.expressionhobby.be

Canada
Clipper Street Scrapbook Company, Langley, BC. www.clipperstreet.com
Paper Art Creations Inc, Leduc, Alberta, http://www.paperartcreations.com/
Scrapbook Centrale, Dollard Des Ormeaux, Quebec www.scrapbookcentrale.ca
Simply Scrapbooking, Prince George, BC https://www.facebook.com/simplyscrapbooking/
Scrap Addicts, Edmonton, Alberta https://www.scrapaddicts.ca/
Scrap and Bean, Edmonton, Alberta http://scrapandbean.com/ 
Scrapbooking Fairies, Drayton Valley, Alberta https://www.scrapbookingfairies.com/
The Paper & ink Boutique, Calgary, Alberta https://www.paperandinkboutique.com/
The Scrap Yard, Calgary, Alberta, https://www.thescrapyardcalgary.com/ 

Denmark
Hobbyboden Scrapworld Samso www.hobbyboden.dk

France
Eirl Bancon Cartoscrap, Midi Pyrenees, https://www.cartoscrap.com/blog/
Horizon Creatif, Ste Jalle h.creatif@gmail.com
Katzelkraft, Ingwiller http://www.katzelkraft.fr/en/
Kerglaz, Basse Goulaine, https://www.kerglaz.com/  
Kerudoc Creation, St Yvi www.kerudoccreation.com
Quartier Serre Teston, Ste Jalle, hcreatif@gmail.com
Scrap by Nini,  Uzerche, Limousin https://scrapbynini.fr/ 
Scrapo'naturel, Tourville La Riviere, www.scraponaturel.fr/livraison 
Toutencolle, Dun sur Avon www.toutencolle.fr

Germany
Paperbasics, Hessen, www.paperbasics.de
Stempelbar, Berlin, www.stempelbar.de
Stempeloase Munich, Munich www.stempeloase.de
Stempelfee Shop, Hilden www.stempelfee-shop.de
Stempellaedle, Stuttgart, www.stempellaedle.de/shop

Greece
Scraps N Pieces, Kallithea www.scrapsnpieces.gr

Italy
Immagine SAS di Rapaccini, Rome, www.immaginelab.com
Il Negozio Della Mamma Di Cle, Torino, clelia27@liberio.it
L'artistica Glo, Cinisello B (Mi), www.artisticaglo.it
Marte Savona, Savona, www.martesavona.it
Pezze E Colori, Lissone, http://www.pezzeecolori.it/ 
Piccole Passioni, Siena, www.piccolepassioni.it
Scrap it Easy, Rome, https://www.scrapiteasy.com/it/

Japan
Tiny Dots, Funabashi-shi, Chiba www.facebook.com/TinyDots

Netherlands
Doe@ding,Spijkenisse https://doeading.nl/
Hobbycompleet de Duif, Leeuwarden www.hobbycompleet.nl
Stampingcorner, Capelle Aan Den Ijssel www.stampingcorner.nl

Norway
Hobbygarasjen, Kopervik, www.Hobbygarasjen.no
Hobbykunst, Rasta, www.hobbykunst-norge.no
Scrapbookengros AS, Kleppe www.hobbylageret.no

Spain
Arts & Crafts, Barcelona, pebdesign@hotmail.es
Cien por Cien Manualidades, S.L., Bizkaia, Catalunya,  www.100x100manualidades.es
Endulze & Crista S.L, Pampalona, Navarra,  www.endulze.com
Ideas 10 Manualidades Y Scrapbook, Bilbao https://ideas10manualidades.com/
Marakiscrap, Tarragona, www.marakiscrap.com
MundoMint, Sabadell, Barcelona, www.mundomint.es
Scrap & Papers Experiences, Barcelona, Info@casonadequintana.com
Scraphouse S.L. Barcelona www.scraphouseshop.es
The Paradise Corner, Barcelona, www.facebook.com/theparadisecorner 

South Africa
Kcraft Imports Ltd, Centurion, www.kcraft.co.za
Stencil Art, Gauteng, www.stencil-art.co.za 

Sweden
Butik Elva, Staffanstorp, https://www.butikelva.se/
HC Design, Svedala, www.hcdesign.nu

Taiwan
Mandy's Cards, Taipei www.facebook.com/mandy.card

United Kingdom
A Trip Down Memory Lane, Ipswich, Suffolk, http://www.atripdownmemorylane.co.uk
Aldridge Crafts, Attleborough, Norfolk www.aldridgecrafts.co.uk
Amelia's Creative Crafts, Studley, Warwickshire  www.ameliascreativecrafts.co.uk
Art from the Heart, Harrogate, Yorkshire www.afth.co.uk
Blade Rubber Stamps, London www.bladerubberstamps.co.uk
Countryview Crafts, Potton, Bedfordshire www.countryviewcrafts.co.uk
Crafts at The Malthouse, Herstmonceux,  East Sussex, http://www.themalthouse.co.uk/
Craftrange, Burnley, Lancs, https://www.craftrange.com/
Fave Rave, Stourbridge, West Midlands www.shabbychicstencils.co.uk
Handmade at Helen's, Dumfries, Scotland, https://www.handmadeathelens.co.uk/
Hixxysoft, Frome, Somerset, https://www.hixxysoft.com/
Loobi Crafts, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, www.loobicrafts.co.uk
Papermaze, Ipswich, Suffolk www.papermaze.co.uk
Stampers Grove, Springbank, Lilliesleaf, Melrose,Scotland www.stampersgrove.co.uk
That's Crafty
, Romford, essex www.thatscrafty.co.uk
The Artistic Stamper Craft Store, Faversham, Kent www.theartisticstamper.com
The Crafty Cafe, 
Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffs, 
http://www.thecraftycafe.co.uk/
The Craft Room, Newcastle-Under-Lyme, Staffs https://www.garnersgardencentre.co.uk/crafts/
The Craft Studio, St Austell, Cornwall https://www.facebook.com/thecraftstudio/
The Forget me not Kraft Kabin www.TheForgetMeNotKraftKabin.co.uk


USA
Annie G Studio, Chula Vista, CA https://www.anniegstudio.com/
Art Anthology, Huntington Beach, CA http://artanthologyinc.com/
Artistic Artifacts, Alexandria, VA https://www.artisticartifacts.com/
Artistic Studio Creations, Fayetteville, Georgia www.facebook.com/ASCbyCrystal
Artistree Workshops, Fulton, New York, www.facebook.com/artistreeworkshops
Big Mouth Scrappers, Forney, Texas, https://www.bigmouthscrapperstx.com/ 
Craftiness, Chatsworth, CA, https://www.craftinessonline.com/
Creative Inkling, Hatnboro, PA https://www.creativeinkling.com/
Ephemera Paducah, Paducah, Kentucky www.ephemerapaducah.com
Everything Scrapbook & Stamps, Lake Worth, Florida www.everythingscrapbook.com
Frantic Stamper, Oregon www.franticstamper.com
Free Heart LLC, Denver, Colarado, http://www.freeheartllc.com/
Golden Hills PaperCrafts, Fairfax Station, Virginia, https://www.goldenshillpapercrafts.com/
Guadalupe's Fun Rubber Stamps, Santa Fe, New Mexico www.santafe.com
Joggles, West Warwick, Rhode Island, www.joggles.com
PaperCraft Clubhouse, Westbrook, Connecticut, http://papercraftclubhouse.com/
Paper Parachute Art Design Co., Beaverton, Oregon www.paperparachute.com
Runaway, Art & Craft Studio, NE Salem, Oregon http://www.runawayart.com/
Scrapbook N Memories, Harrisonville, Missouri, https://www.scrapbooknmemories.net/
Simon Says Stamp, Columbus, Ohio www. simonsaysstamp.com
The Artistic Palette Studio, Eugene, OR, http://www.artistspalette.com/studio/
The Crafty Scrapper, Waxahachie, TX http://www.thecraftyscrapper.com/
The Doodlebug Inc, Jasper, IN, https://www.thedoodlebuginc.com/
The Ink Pad, New York, www.theinkpadnyc.com
The Queen's Ink Savage, Maryland www.queensink.com
Topflight Stamps, Irmo, South Carolina https://topflightstamps.com/
Stamp Fever, Orange, California www.stpstamp.com
Valley Stamp & Scrap LLC, Neenah, Wisconsin, https://www.valleystampandscrap.com/

Our brand is only available from established stockists who are VAT/ GST/ sales tax registered and for whom product education is a core principle. We would rather supply a few hand selected stockists, than the greater masses. If you would like to apply to be a stockist, you can find our more about our supply criteria here

PaperArtsy Links
Facebook Group PaperArtsy People
Facebook Page PaperArtsy


1 comment:

Helen said...

what a fab topic!

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

About This Blog

Even though we've been blogging for quite some time only just figured out the followers button, so please follow us to hear about all that is new in the land of PaperArtsy. We'd love to share our ideas with you! Leandra

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ