Monday, 2 March 2020

NEW PaperArtsy Products: Hot Picks {March 2020}

 Hot Picks Collection
March 2020 New Product Announcement


A note from Leandra:
Hot Picks are a collection that give a nod to the core genre that 'brand PaperArtsy' was built upon. Our original style since 2003 was the quirky Vintage vibe and quite a small format, suitable for ATC and cards. By 2010, Hot Picks were born from the constant demand for masculine imagery and larger format stamps as people moved off the page into journaling, altered art (now increasingly re-branded as mixed media) and even into painty scrapbooking. 

Mark, (my husband and business buddy) has been the designer of this range from the outset. In 2019 he kept hearing the phrase ‘jungle vibes’.  I have a vision to redecorate something in this style, so to warm him up to this idea, I keep pointing out the jungle trend to him – Pinterest, Instagram, in shops, TV adverts, that sort of thing. Typical of him, he poo-pooed it for ages, and then lo and behold, jungle vibe stamps miraculously appeared out of the blue!! I did NOT see that coming! The lesson – husbands do listen after all! There is hope! Ha ha! 

Let's check out these new stamps, and I'll share a couple of ideas too.

If you want to buy these stamps, they are available EXCLUSIVELY from our approved stockists for the next 6 months. We do not compete with our retailers, so if you want to get your hands on them, check out the list at the bottom of this post!

~ Leandra.

  New Stamps
Price: RRP £18.74 +VAT
Size:5" x 6" (13 x16.5cm)
All stamps are individually trimmed onto cling foam, presented in a clear hanging bag
with a laminated storage/index sheet.

  
Hot Pick 2001 (HP2001/HP2001EZ)


There's a lot on this plate for the fishing expert in your life, but there is something calm and peaceful about fish stamps, so great on a journal page too! This one comprises a couple of very simple layers.

Hot Pick 2002 (HP2002/ HP2002EZ)



I was just trying to warm up my mojo on this sample, so its all on one layer. A mix of paint, infusions and some oxide ink droplets. Nothing too tricky.

Project One: Smooth Fish


Intro: I found some old book page, and it always makes a great surface to start with. A bit of paint, ink and in a blink a fishy tag was done!


The base layer was dark oxide inks, Walnut and Vintage Photo, a bit of water flicking and the 'school of fish' stamped over repeatedly.


You can see that the images was stamped an embossed in clear. That was only because I used a slow drying ink (Versafine Clair), which is perfect onto sucky paper, but was slow drying over the paint I had put on the old book page, so it happily attracted some glossy EP.


You can see the contrasting layers nicely here, and I love how the book page script looks so distressed due to the paint layer. The fish was coloured with some infusions picked up with a water brush.

Project Two: Spiky Fish


I love this stamp particularly the number detail in the background. Stamping it in a dark colour onto any background, patterned card-stock, perhaps a mixed media BG and you have an instant card or tag is sorted. But if you want to go the next level…then here’s some detail.


The shoal of fish at the foot were stamped in black onto painted card, torn and layered. Little highlights of metallic glaze on the fish give the glint I needed to replicate silver scales.

The school of fish (just visible on the blue are) were stamped with Heavy Cream Fresco paint directly onto a piece of grey board (our grey board has a white paper on one side of it) This provided a resist for the next step. A Bit Jaded Infusions are tapped gently over the background, you only want the tiniest amount of crystals on the surface, then activate with water. They sink into the white paper and when dry the Cream paint pops softly. 


Under the fish's body, Metallic Gold Paint was swiped across the centre zone, I wanted the fish to glint off the Infusions background. The image was stamped in Twilight Versafine Claire Ink, embossed in clear, and distress oxide re-inker, thinned with water, was added to build depth around the edges of the fish. 
 
Embellishments were stamped onto Copper Fresco-painted card, torn and added to the composition with accompanying 3D embellishments.


The edges were rubbed with Walnut Distress ink in places.


Project Three: Giraffe

Intro: Love this tall format stamp, his expression is quite amusing and some funny words could easily be added. I like that you can easily cut away the right-hand side and layer it on contrasting layers.


I brayered Heavy Cream Fresco chalk acrylic paint onto a 5x7” piece of grey-board. I wanted this as a resist so I could build oxide inks softly on the paint. If you apply them direct to sucky card the colours are much more intense, and I was going for ‘soft’. As i added layers and water, I got this grainy effect from the walnut component of the infusions. it reminded me of debris left behind when the tide goes out on a beach.



I made a watery background using infusions (Golden Sands) initially, then added layers of Distress Oxide Ink re-inker, the trick is to drip 3-4 drops directly onto the surface in a few areas, add water, dry, blot and repeat several times. This way you gradually build up the detail and depth of colour. I used Fossilised Amber in the centre, Vintage Photo and Walnut at the edges. The Pink is Tattered Rose, it went a bit darker as it picked up the brown-yellow tones from residual infusions.

 

I stamped the Giraffe in Versafine Claire Pinecone. I do like this ink by Tsukineko, it takes a while to dry when paint is underneath but it is sharp, dark and easy to ink up your stamp, quite a wet formula, onto card it dries immediately. (TIP: If you are impatient with in on paint, emboss it with clear powder, matte EP is good too!) 


To finish, I splattered infusions droplets (Black Knight) from a Tim Holtz splatter brush generously, but dabbed them off the giraffe. Ditto with the coral Oxide ink. And of course, I used Golden Sands infusions to add colour to the giraffe. Sprinkled a tiny amount onto craft sheet, spritz to activate, then pick up with a brush or water brush and add colour, again, drying in between layers to build colour depth.

I'm sure these stamps can be taken in many directions! And I bet you will!

Leandra



PaperArtsy Stockist List

Due to the proliferation of counterfeit products affecting the craft sector globally, we want to help you identify our brand with ease.

1. We ONLY manufacture RED RUBBER STAMPS (not clear, polymer, silicone).  
2. We manufacture ALL our red rubber stamps and stencils on site in Essex, UK. 
3. We do not outsource any of our stamp or stencil manufacturing.
4. Purchase from a supplier on the list below, then you know you are buying authentic PA products.

Products sourced from anywhere other than the stockists below are likely to be counterfeit manufactured illegally without our consent, in direct breach of our Intellectual Property protections. Please take care to only buy from an approved stockist on the list below.

Australia
Art and Soul Studio, Burrum Heads, Queensland www.artandsoulstudio.com.au
Arts and Craft Supply, Frenchs Forest, NSW https://artsandcraftsupply.shop 
Bella Paperie, 
Brendale, Queensland, www.bellapaperie.net.au
Bev's Cross Crafts, Spreyton, Tasmania https://www.bevscrosscrafts.com.au/
Crafters Cupboard, Berwick, Victoria www.crafterscupboard.com.au
Scrap Matrix, Port Elliot, South Australia http://scrapmatrix.com/
Scrapbook Superstore & More South Penrith, NSW https://www.scrapbooksuperstore.com.au/
The Scrapbooker's Confetti Box, Swansea,NSW https://thescrapbookersconfettibox.com/
The Thread Studio, 6 Smith Street, Perth http://www.thethreadstudio.com/
The Scrapbook Store, North Perth,WA http://thescrapbookstore.com.au/
Time To Create, Modanville, NSW www.timetocreate.com.au

Austria
CP Marketingservices Gmbh, Wilhering, Upper Austria,office@cpmarketing.at

Belgium
Cart N Scrap Art, Antwerp, cartnscrap@gmail.com
Cotrain, Kontich, www.cotrain.be
Expression Hobby, Marcinelle www.expressionhobby.be

Canada
Clipper Street Scrapbook Company, Langley, BC. www.clipperstreet.com
Scrapbook Centrale, Dollard Des Ormeaux, Quebec www.scrapbookcentrale.ca
Simply Scrapbooking, Prince George, BC https://www.facebook.com/simplyscrapbooking/
Scrap Addicts, Edmonton, Alberta https://www.scrapaddicts.ca/
Scrap and Bean, Edmonton, Alberta http://scrapandbean.com/ 
Scrapbooking Fairies, Drayton Valley, Alberta https://www.scrapbookingfairies.com/
The Paper & ink Boutique, Calgary, Alberta https://www.paperandinkboutique.com/

Czech Republic
Hurapapir, Brno https://www.hurapapir.cz/

Denmark
Hobbyboden Scrapworld Samso www.hobbyboden.dk
Papir Ulven, Lejre www.papirulven.dk
Three Scoops Design, Frederiksberg, www.threescoops.dk

Finland
Käsitellen, Lempäälä, https://www.kasitellen.fi/
Piia Takalo, Kittila, www.piiapaper.com/fi

France
Eirl Bancon Cartoscrap, Midi Pyrenees, https://www.cartoscrap.com/blog/
Horizon Creatif, Ste Jalle h.creatif@gmail.com
Katzelkraft, Ingwiller http://www.katzelkraft.fr/en/
Kerglaz, Basse Goulaine, https://www.kerglaz.com/  
Kerudoc Creation, St Yvi www.kerudoccreation.com
Quartier Serre Teston, Ste Jalle, hcreatif@gmail.com
Scrap by Nini,  Uzerche, Limousin https://scrapbynini.fr/ 
Scrapo'naturel, Tourville La Riviere, www.scraponaturel.fr/livraison 
Toutencolle, Dun sur Avon www.toutencolle.fr

Germany
Paperbasics, Hessen, www.paperbasics.de
Stempelbar, Berlin, www.stempelbar.de
Stempeloase Munich, Munich www.stempeloase.de
Stempelfee Shop, Hilden www.stempelfee-shop.de
Stempellaedle, Stuttgart, www.stempellaedle.de/shop

Greece
Scraps N Pieces, Kallithea www.scrapsnpieces.gr

Italy
Immagine SAS di Rapaccini, Rome, www.immaginelab.com
Il Negozio Della Mamma Di Cle, Torino, clelia27@liberio.it
L'artistica Glo, Cinisello B (Mi), www.artisticaglo.it
Marte Savona, Savona, www.martesavona.it
Piccole Passioni, Siena, www.piccolepassioni.it
Scrap it Easy, Rome, https://www.scrapiteasy.com/it/

Japan
Tiny Dots, Funabashi-shi, Chiba www.facebook.com/TinyDots

Netherlands
Doe@ding,Spijkenisse https://doeading.nl/
Hobbycompleet de Duif, Leeuwarden www.hobbycompleet.nl
Stampingcorner, Capelle Aan Den Ijssel www.stampingcorner.nl

Norway
Hobbygarasjen, Kopervik, www.Hobbygarasjen.no
Hobbykunst, Rasta, www.hobbykunst-norge.no
Scrapbookengros AS, Kleppe www.hobbylageret.no

Spain
Arts & Crafts, Barcelona, pebdesign@hotmail.es
Cien por Cien Manualidades, S.L., Bizkaia, Catalunya,  www.100x100manualidades.es
Endulze & Crista S.L, Pampalona, Navarra,  www.endulze.com
Ideas 10 Manualidades Y Scrapbook, Bilbao https://ideas10manualidades.com/
Marakiscrap, Tarragona, www.marakiscrap.com
MundoMint, Sabadell, Barcelona, www.mundomint.es
Scrap & Papers Experiences, Barcelona, Info@casonadequintana.com
Scraphouse S.L. Barcelona www.scraphouseshop.es
The Paradise Corner, Barcelona, www.facebook.com/theparadisecorner 

South Africa
Kcraft Imports Ltd, Centurion, www.kcraft.co.za
Stencil Art, Gauteng, www.stencil-art.co.za 

Sweden
Butik Elva, Staffanstorp, https://www.butikelva.se/
HC Design, Svedala, www.hcdesign.nu

Taiwan
Mandy's Cards, Taipei www.facebook.com/mandy.card

United Kingdom
A Trip Down Memory Lane, Ipswich, Suffolk, http://www.atripdownmemorylane.co.uk
Abermaw Quilting & Crafting, Gwynedd, Wales ph 07818556758
Aldridge Crafts, Attleborough, Norfolk www.aldridgecrafts.co.uk
Amelia's Creative Crafts, Studley, Warwickshire  www.ameliascreativecrafts.co.uk
Art from the Heart, Harrogate, Yorkshire www.afth.co.uk
Bellacrafts, Eastleigh, hampshire www.bellacrafts.co.uk
Blade Rubber Stamps, London www.bladerubberstamps.co.uk
Charlottes Crafty Corner, Suffolk, http://www.craftycorner.suffolkcraftshop.co.uk/
Clacton Art Craft Model Centre, Clacton on Sea,  Essex, http://www.clactoncrafts.co.uk/
Countryview Crafts, Potton, Bedfordshire www.countryviewcrafts.co.uk
Craft Your Art Out, Ballynahinch, County Down, craftyourartout@outlook.com
Crafty Bunch, Telford, Shropshire, http://craftybunch.co.uk/
Crafty Snippets, Billingshurst West Sussex www.craftysnippets.co.uk
Crafts & Candlelight, Ipswich, Suffolk www.craftsandcandlelight.co.uk
Crafts @themalthouse, Herstmonceux,  East Sussex, http://www.themalthouse.co.uk/
Craftrange, Burnley, Lancs, https://www.craftrange.com/
Handmade at Helen's, Dumfries, Scotland, https://www.handmadeathelens.co.uk/
I Love Mixed Media, Cromhall, Gloucestershire, https://www.ilovemixedmedia.co.uk/
Imagine, Design, Create, Seaton, Exeter http://imaginedesigncreate.co.uk/shoponline/
Kay CarleyDesigns http://www.kaycarley.com
Kraft Crazy, Amesbury, Wiltshire https://www.facebook.com/KraftCrazy/
Lisa B Designs, Maidstone, Kent, http://www.lisabdesigns.co.uk/
Lets Create, Lincoln, Lincolnshire, http://www.letscreateartandcrafts.co.uk/
Loobi Crafts, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, www.loobicrafts.co.uk
Papermaze, Ipswich, Suffolk www.papermaze.co.uk
Paperstory
, Norfolk www.paperstory.bigcartel.com
Poppycraft,
 Wallingford,  https://poppycraft.co.uk/

Fave Rave
, Stourbridge, West Midlands www.shabbychicstencils.co.uk
Scrapbook Magic, 
Mullion Helston, Cornwall, www.scrapbookmagic.co.uk
Shed Load of Crafts, Enfield, Middlesex, www.shedloadofcrafts.com
Simply Crafts, Cardiff, www.simplycraft.com
Snazzy's
, Swindon, Wiltshire. https://www.facebook.com/snazzystampingandscrapbooking/
Stampers Grove, Springbank, Lilliesleaf, Melrose,Scotland www.stampersgrove.co.uk
That's Crafty
, Romford, essex www.thatscrafty.co.uk
The Artistic Stamper Craft Store, Faversham, Kent www.theartisticstamper.com
The Craft Box
, Barnsley, South Yorkshire www.thecraftbox.biz
The Crafty Cabin,
Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffordshire, https://www.facebook.com/Rollestoncraft/

The Craft Room
, Newcastle-Under-Lyme, Staffs https://www.garnersgardencentre.co.uk/crafts/
The Craft Studio, St Austell, Cornwall https://www.facebook.com/thecraftstudio/
The Forget me not Kraft Kabin www.facebook.com/TheForgetMeNotKraftKabin
The Stamp Pad, Saddleworth, stamp-pad.blogspot.com
Whichcraft, Wallasey, Merseyside

USA
Artistic Artifacts, Alexandria, VA https://www.artisticartifacts.com/
Artistic Studio Creations, Fayetteville, Georgia www.facebook.com/ASCbyCrystal
Artistree Workshops, Fulton, New York, www.facebook.com/artistreeworkshops
Big Mouth Scrappers, Forney, Texas, https://www.bigmouthscrapperstx.com/ 
Creative Designs by Debbie Castle Rock, Colorado debbie.knight@centurylink.net
Creative Inkling, Hatnboro, PA https://www.creativeinkling.com/
Creek Bank Creations, Indiana www.creekbankcreations.com
Ephemera Paducah, Paducah, Kentucky www.ephemerapaducah.com
Everything Scrapbook & Stamps, Lake Worth, Florida www.everythingscrapbook.com
Frantic Stamper, Oregon www.franticstamper.com
Free Heart LLC, Denver, Colarado, http://www.freeheartllc.com/
Golden Hills PaperCrafts, Fairfax Station, Virginia, https://www.goldenshillpapercrafts.com/
Guadalupe's Fun Rubber Stamps, Santa Fe, New Mexico www.santafe.com
Joggles, West Warwick, Rhode Island, www.joggles.com 
My Rusty Crown, Escondido, California, https://myrustycrown.com/
PaperCraft Clubhouse, Westbrook, Connecticut, http://papercraftclubhouse.com/
Paper Parachute Art Design Co., Beaverton, Oregon www.paperparachute.com
Runaway, Art & Craft Studio, NE Salem, Oregon http://www.runawayart.com/
Sherries's Stuff, Warrenton, Virginia, https://www.facebook.com/sherriesstuff.va/
Simon Says Stamp, Columbus, Ohio www. simonsaysstamp.com
Stamplistic, Cleveland, Ohio www.stamplistic.com
The Artistic Palette Studio, Eugene, OR, http://www.artistspalette.com/studio/
The Crafty Scrapper, Waxahachie, TX http://www.thecraftyscrapper.com/
The Doodlebug Inc, Jasper, IN, https://www.thedoodlebuginc.com/
The Ink Pad, New York, www.theinkpadnyc.com
The Queen's Ink Savage, Maryland www.queensink.com
Topflight Stamps, Irmo, South Carolina https://topflightstamps.com/
Seth Apter, New York www.sethapter.com
Stamp Fever, Orange, California www.stpstamp.com

Our brand is only available from established stockists who are VAT/ GST/ sales tax registered and for whom product education is a core principle. We would rather supply a few hand selected stockists, than the greater masses. If you would like to apply to be a stockist, you can find our more about our supply criteria here

PaperArtsy Links
Facebook Group PaperArtsy People
Facebook Page PaperArtsy

10 comments:

James D (Stampers Grove) said...

I've been saying it for years. Husbands do listen 😅. Love these Hotpicks and the vintage Fish project. 🙂

Lauren Hatwell said...

Love, love, LOVE these! Mr PaperArtsy does it again! Tremendous samples too Mrs! A winner! Lx

Keren Baker said...

These are utterly fabulous. Your teamwork works brilliantly! Full marks Mark!!! x

Miriam said...

I love these.... Hot Picks are always up there for me. Mark is so blooming clever!

SewPaperPaint said...

I am absolutely smitten and want to try these resist techniques immediately! So much to marvel over, well done Leandra! <3

butterfly said...

Love the ocean and jungle vibes - and fabulous samples... especially that glimmering golden fish panel - magic!
Alison x

Lucy Edmondson said...

Fabulous stamps and samples! My niece, currently working with rhinos, would love this artwork too x

A Pink said...

Fabulous stamp designs with a really cool jungle and ocean vibe. Sure these will be very popular . Thanks Mark :) .
Love all your samples , Leandra . Fabulous showcasing of the new hot picks and some super 'resisted effects.
x

Cocofolies said...

Wow!!!
Both the stamps and the samples are fabulous!!!
Corinne x

Etsuko said...

Stunning new Hot Picks release!! Amazing vintage style samples, love them all!! xx

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

About This Blog

Even though we've been blogging for quite some time only just figured out the followers button, so please follow us to hear about all that is new in the land of PaperArtsy. We'd love to share our ideas with you! Leandra

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ