Sunday, 1 March 2020

NEW PaperArtsy Products: Fresco Paints {March 2020}

Fresco Finish Chalk Acrylics
March 2020 New Product Announcement

As you probably know by now, we have been undergoing a massive revamp of the way we group the Fresco colours, from sets of 4's into sets of 6's. In the process by mid 2020, we will have 22 colour families of 6. 

Today we announce a new set of 6 Fresh Greens, just in time for Spring! 
It's almost like we planned it!


These clean greens are perfect for all your grassy, stalk-y needs. Let me show you a few tags I made using these new greens.

I used a small gel plate to create some of these tags, simply brayering a colour, often using a texture stamp, such as Seth's new minis to take off some excess paint, then pressing the tag (pre-painted with a contrasting background) onto the painted gel plate. That was the basic, very simple principle. Below is Gumboots base with Pistachio, Spring and Willow in  the subsequent gel-printed layer. 



On this one I started with Spring on the base of the tag. Willow and Celery were brayered onto the gel-plate by putting dots of each in opposite corners diagonally, then brayered and blended. Then I removed paint using a clean dry large Tracy Scott flower stamp. The rubber grabs the Fresco chalk paint so well, leaving a large bold pattern in negative on the gel plate. Next, take a print to lift the remaining paint off the plate. These lighter colours tend to have a paint shift looking light when wet and drying a shade darker. Any of Tracy Scott's huge flowers would work well for this idea. 



It's a pretty cool effect as you can see, the dark base coat peeking through the light flower top-coat. If you choose more obviously contrasting colours (rather than the softer tone on tone I did) you will get a bigger impact, but I think this is going to work best with 2 opaque paints. I was chuffed to bits with the tone on tone softer vibe, I also think that this is going to work well with the darker shade underneath. On the right one of the lighter tones is printed over one of the mid tones. In effect, similar colours were used to contrast for both tags, but as more of the base layer shows through on the right, it looks like totally different colours were used.


Another simple option on the left , Gumboots ended up being the most dominant colour underneath but I also dry brushed most of the other colours before I got to that stage with Gumboots mostly at the edges. Willow was the final colour stamped on top with a strip stamp (a sneak peek of one of Courtney's newer stamps).


I kept up with the dark underneath and paler on top - this is my go to - just in case I want to stamp something else on top, I have a tendency to find lighter backgrounds more useful, but I love the depth you get from having a darker shade underneath. Pure Gumboots o the right. All the colours are opaque, but Gumboots is one of those semi-opaques, heading into the translucent zone...so it will be similar to some other dark shades we have that are not fully opaque (Inky Pool, Claret, French Roast) and super-useful for colour mixing, shading over stamped images or gentle dry-brushing.


And then, to contrast with the statement just made, I went light to dark. 2 tags pre-painted, one with the 3 lighter shades: Willow, Celery, Spring, and the other with Spring and Beanstalk.  I brayered Gumboots on the gel plate and stamped into it with giant bubble wrap, the wet bubble wrap was immediately stamped onto the tag on the right. And then the tage on the left (painted in pale shades) was pressed onto the remaining wet painty gel plate to pick up the bubble texture wet paint. Once dry, I sanded back the centre of the tag to create a paler focal area for the Sara Naumann quote. The one on the right was overstamped with that lovely Seth mini.


I find it's easier to prep a bunch of tags, then start creating stamped textures on the gel plate, then you have multiple options of building layers on several tags at the same time. If you haven't had a go gel-printing yet, a smaller plate is a good place to start - particularly with tags. All these tags were die cut from our Heavy Smoothy card. 

So those 6 new colours take us to 20 paint sets, and in June and August we will release a new family of 6 each of those months. As soon as we get those colours in production, we can finally create a NEW colour chart for you. In the meantime, this blog post is your most comprehensive colour reference tool! And stockists are listed at the foot of this post!

But before I leave you with all the colour cards to date, a quick, very informative news flash...did you spot how Jenny Marples decorated this Fresco storage rack ready for use? She helped the ladies at @coolkatzcraft (see here) develop these spinners, they come as 2, 3 or 4 tiers. Each tier has 6 segments, and one segment holds 6 paints. That means you can fit 36 Fresco paints per tier.




 They have launched the product this week, so drop by their instagram to see more!

So now that we have grouped all our paints into 6's, you can start to fill the gaps on your spinner display! If you look at the summary of each family as explained below, you can figure out where the final 2 new families we release over the next 6 months will eventually fit in.

Let me remind you what the entire rainbow of Fresco Colours now looks like...

1. Bright Turquoise Blues
New: Aquamarine

2. Grey Turquoise Blues
New: Waterfall, Calypso

3. Grey-Green Blues
New: Blue Moon, Marbles, Paua Shell - Jan 2020
Tweaked: Lake Wanaka (barely)

 4. Grey Blues
New: Ice Berg, Wolf Eye, Blue Smoke, Blue Jeans
Tweaked: Surf's Up

5. Bright Clean Blues
New: Summer Sky
Tweaked: Blue Oyster, Smurf, China (Barely), Twilight (noticeably)

6. Purple Blues
(June 2020)

7. Blue Purples
New: Periwinkle, Forget-me-Not
Tweaked: Wisteria, Purple Rain (not much)

8. Purples
New: Mauve, Globe Thistle, Grape - Jan 2020
Tweaked: Moonlight (barely)

9.Pink Purples
New: Taro Milk Tea, Byzantium
Tweaked: Sugar Plum, Sour Grapes

10. Bright Pinks
New: Professor Plum (returned colour)
Tweaked: Orchid

11. Soft Pinks
New: Sorbet
Tweaked: Blush, Cherry Blossom, Rose (barely)

12. Coral Pinks
New: Peachy Keen, Scottish Salmon, Blood Orange (returned colour)

13. Bright Warms
New: Cayenne, Red Lipstick

14. Rustic Warms

15. Browns
New: Cloud 9, Sand

16. Neutrals
New: Truffle

17. Greys
New: Elephant (returned colour)

18. Khaki Greens 
New: Lichen, Khaki - Jan 2020

19. Mint Greens
(August 2020)

20. Clean Greens
(March 2020)

21. Fresh Greens
New: Lawn
Tweaked: Teresa Green, Hyde Park (barely), Guacamole, Granny Smith (a bit)

22. Yellow Greens
Tweaked: Chartreuse, Hey Pesto (noticeably), Tinned Peas (barely) 


Here are Seth's 24 colours as they stand, lets put them in a rainbow.



 

And of course the existing 20 shades in Tracy's line...


 

All of the new paints are available to purchase now from our approved stockists. We do not put these items on our website, so if you need to find them, the fastest way is to do a shout out on our FB group, PaperArtsy people (link at the foot).


PaperArtsy Stockist List

Due to the proliferation of counterfeit products affecting the craft sector globally, we want to help you identify our brand with ease.

1. We ONLY manufacture RED RUBBER STAMPS (not clear, polymer, silicone).  
2. We manufacture ALL our red rubber stamps and stencils on site in Essex, UK. 
3. We do not outsource any of our stamp or stencil manufacturing.
4. Purchase from a supplier on the list below, then you know you are buying authentic PA products.

Products sourced from anywhere other than the stockists below are likely to be counterfeit manufactured illegally without our consent, in direct breach of our Intellectual Property protections. Please take care to buy from an approved stockist on the list below.

Australia
Art and Soul Studio, Burrum Heads, Queensland www.artandsoulstudio.com.au
Arts and Craft Supply, Frenchs Forest, NSW https://artsandcraftsupply.shop 
Bella Paperie, 
Brendale, Queensland, www.bellapaperie.net.au
Bev's Cross Crafts, Spreyton, Tasmania https://www.bevscrosscrafts.com.au/
Crafters Cupboard, Berwick, Victoria www.crafterscupboard.com.au
Scrap Matrix, Port Elliot, South Australia http://scrapmatrix.com/
Scrapbook Superstore & More South Penrith, NSW https://www.scrapbooksuperstore.com.au/
The Thread Studio, 6 Smith Street, Perth http://www.thethreadstudio.com/
The Scrapbook Store, North Perth,WA http://thescrapbookstore.com.au/
Time To Create, Modanville, NSW www.timetocreate.com.au

Austria
CP Marketingservices Gmbh, Wilhering, Upper Austria,office@cpmarketing.at

Belgium
Cart N Scrap Art, Antwerp, cartnscrap@gmail.com
Cotrain, Kontich, www.cotrain.be
Expression Hobby, Marcinelle www.expressionhobby.be

Canada
Clipper Street Scrapbook Company, Langley, BC. www.clipperstreet.com
Scrapbook Centrale, Dollard Des Ormeaux, Quebec www.scrapbookcentrale.ca
Simply Scrapbooking, Prince George, BC https://www.facebook.com/simplyscrapbooking/
Scrap Addicts, Edmonton, Alberta https://www.scrapaddicts.ca/
Scrap and Bean, Edmonton, Alberta http://scrapandbean.com/ 
Scrapbooking Fairies, Drayton Valley, Alberta https://www.scrapbookingfairies.com/
The Paper & ink Boutique, Calgary, Alberta https://www.paperandinkboutique.com/

Czech Republic
Hurapapir, Brno https://www.hurapapir.cz/

Denmark
Hobbyboden Scrapworld Samso www.hobbyboden.dk
Papir Ulven, Lejre www.papirulven.dk
Three Scoops Design, Frederiksberg, www.threescoops.dk

Finland
Käsitellen, Lempäälä, https://www.kasitellen.fi/
Piia Takalo, Kittila, www.piiapaper.com/fi

France
Eirl Bancon Cartoscrap, Midi Pyrenees, https://www.cartoscrap.com/blog/
Horizon Creatif, Ste Jalle h.creatif@gmail.com
Katzelkraft, Ingwiller http://www.katzelkraft.fr/en/
Kerglaz, Basse Goulaine, https://www.kerglaz.com/  
Kerudoc Creation, St Yvi www.kerudoccreation.com
Quartier Serre Teston, Ste Jalle, hcreatif@gmail.com
Scrap by Nini,  Uzerche, Limousin https://scrapbynini.fr/ 
Scrapo'naturel, Tourville La Riviere, www.scraponaturel.fr/livraison 
Toutencolle, Dun sur Avon www.toutencolle.fr

Germany
Paperbasics, Hessen, www.paperbasics.de
Stempelbar, Berlin, www.stempelbar.de
Stempeloase Munich, Munich www.stempeloase.de
Stempelfee Shop, Hilden www.stempelfee-shop.de
Stempellaedle, Stuttgart, www.stempellaedle.de/shop

Greece
Scraps N Pieces, Kallithea www.scrapsnpieces.gr

Italy
Immagine SAS di Rapaccini, Rome, www.immaginelab.com
Il Negozio Della Mamma Di Cle, Torino, clelia27@liberio.it
L'artistica Glo, Cinisello B (Mi), www.artisticaglo.it
Marte Savona, Savona, www.martesavona.it
Piccole Passioni, Siena, www.piccolepassioni.it
Scrap it Easy, Rome, https://www.scrapiteasy.com/it/

Japan
Tiny Dots, Funabashi-shi, Chiba www.facebook.com/TinyDots

Netherlands
Doe@ding,Spijkenisse https://doeading.nl/
Hobbycompleet de Duif, Leeuwarden www.hobbycompleet.nl
Stampingcorner, Capelle Aan Den Ijssel www.stampingcorner.nl

Norway
Hobbygarasjen, Kopervik, www.Hobbygarasjen.no
Hobbykunst, Rasta, www.hobbykunst-norge.no
Scrapbookengros AS, Kleppe www.hobbylageret.no

Spain
Arts & Crafts, Barcelona, pebdesign@hotmail.es
Cien por Cien Manualidades, S.L., Bizkaia, Catalunya,  www.100x100manualidades.es
Endulze & Crista S.L, Pampalona, Navarra,  www.endulze.com
Ideas 10 Manualidades Y Scrapbook, Bilbao https://ideas10manualidades.com/
Marakiscrap, Tarragona, www.marakiscrap.com
MundoMint, Sabadell, Barcelona, www.mundomint.es
Scrap & Papers Experiences, Barcelona, Info@casonadequintana.com
Scraphouse S.L. Barcelona www.scraphouseshop.es
The Paradise Corner, Barcelona, www.facebook.com/theparadisecorner 

South Africa
Kcraft Imports Ltd, Centurion, www.kcraft.co.za
Stencil Art, Gauteng, www.stencil-art.co.za 

Sweden
Butik Elva, Staffanstorp, https://www.butikelva.se/
HC Design, Svedala, www.hcdesign.nu

Taiwan
Mandy's Cards, Taipei www.facebook.com/mandy.card

United Kingdom
A Trip Down Memory Lane, Ipswich, Suffolk, http://www.atripdownmemorylane.co.uk
Abermaw Quilting & Crafting, Gwynedd, Wales ph 07818556758
Aldridge Crafts, Attleborough, Norfolk www.aldridgecrafts.co.uk
Amelia's Creative Crafts, Studley, Warwickshire  www.ameliascreativecrafts.co.uk
Art from the Heart, Harrogate, Yorkshire www.afth.co.uk
Bellacrafts, Eastleigh, hampshire www.bellacrafts.co.uk
Blade Rubber Stamps, London www.bladerubberstamps.co.uk
Charlottes Crafty Corner, Suffolk, http://www.craftycorner.suffolkcraftshop.co.uk/
Clacton Art Craft Model Centre, Clacton on Sea,  Essex, http://www.clactoncrafts.co.uk/
Countryview Crafts, Potton, Bedfordshire www.countryviewcrafts.co.uk
Craft Your Art Out, Ballynahinch, County Down, craftyourartout@outlook.com
Crafty Bunch, Telford, Shropshire, http://craftybunch.co.uk/
Crafty Snippets, Billingshurst West Sussex www.craftysnippets.co.uk
Crafts & Candlelight, Ipswich, Suffolk www.craftsandcandlelight.co.uk
Crafts @themalthouse, Herstmonceux,  East Sussex, http://www.themalthouse.co.uk/
Craftrange, Burnley, Lancs, https://www.craftrange.com/
Handmade at Helen's, Dumfries, Scotland, https://www.handmadeathelens.co.uk/
I Love Mixed Media, Cromhall, Gloucestershire, https://www.ilovemixedmedia.co.uk/
Imagine, Design, Create, Seaton, Exeter http://imaginedesigncreate.co.uk/shoponline/
Kay CarleyDesigns http://www.kaycarley.com
Kraft Crazy, Amesbury, Wiltshire https://www.facebook.com/KraftCrazy/
Lisa B Designs, Maidstone, Kent, http://www.lisabdesigns.co.uk/
Lets Create, Lincoln, Lincolnshire, http://www.letscreateartandcrafts.co.uk/
Loobi Crafts, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, www.loobicrafts.co.uk
Papermaze, Ipswich, Suffolk www.papermaze.co.uk
Paperstory
, Norfolk www.paperstory.bigcartel.com
Poppycraft,
 Wallingford,  https://poppycraft.co.uk/

Fave Rave
, Stourbridge, West Midlands www.shabbychicstencils.co.uk
Scrapbook Magic, 
Mullion Helston, Cornwall, www.scrapbookmagic.co.uk
Shed Load of Crafts, Enfield, Middlesex, www.shedloadofcrafts.com
Simply Crafts, Cardiff, www.simplycraft.com
Snazzy's
, Swindon, Wiltshire. https://www.facebook.com/snazzystampingandscrapbooking/
Stampers Grove, Springbank, Lilliesleaf, Melrose,Scotland www.stampersgrove.co.uk
That's Crafty
, Romford, essex www.thatscrafty.co.uk
The Artistic Stamper Craft Store, Faversham, Kent www.theartisticstamper.com
The Craft Box
, Barnsley, South Yorkshire www.thecraftbox.biz
The Crafty Cabin,
Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffordshire, https://www.facebook.com/Rollestoncraft/

The Craft Room
, Newcastle-Under-Lyme, Staffs https://www.garnersgardencentre.co.uk/crafts/
The Craft Studio, St Austell, Cornwall https://www.facebook.com/thecraftstudio/
The Forget me not Kraft Kabin www.facebook.com/TheForgetMeNotKraftKabin
The Stamp Pad, Saddleworth, stamp-pad.blogspot.com
Whichcraft, Wallasey, Merseyside

USA
Artistic Artifacts, Alexandria, VA https://www.artisticartifacts.com/
Artistic Studio Creations, Fayetteville, Georgia www.facebook.com/ASCbyCrystal
Artistree Workshops, Fulton, New York, www.facebook.com/artistreeworkshops
Big Mouth Scrappers, Forney, Texas, https://www.bigmouthscrapperstx.com/ 
Creative Designs by Debbie Castle Rock, Colorado debbie.knight@centurylink.net
Creative Inkling, Hatnboro, PA https://www.creativeinkling.com/
Creek Bank Creations, Indiana www.creekbankcreations.com
Ephemera Paducah, Paducah, Kentucky www.ephemerapaducah.com
Everything Scrapbook & Stamps, Lake Worth, Florida www.everythingscrapbook.com
Frantic Stamper, Oregon www.franticstamper.com
Free Heart LLC, Denver, Colarado, http://www.freeheartllc.com/
Golden Hills PaperCrafts, Fairfax Station, Virginia, https://www.goldenshillpapercrafts.com/
Guadalupe's Fun Rubber Stamps, Santa Fe, New Mexico www.santafe.com
Joggles, West Warwick, Rhode Island, www.joggles.com 
My Rusty Crown, Escondido, California, https://myrustycrown.com/
PaperCraft Clubhouse, Westbrook, Connecticut, http://papercraftclubhouse.com/
Paper Parachute Art Design Co., Beaverton, Oregon www.paperparachute.com
Runaway, Art & Craft Studio, NE Salem, Oregon http://www.runawayart.com/
Sherries's Stuff, Warrenton, Virginia, https://www.facebook.com/sherriesstuff.va/
Simon Says Stamp, Columbus, Ohio www. simonsaysstamp.com
Stamplistic, Cleveland, Ohio www.stamplistic.com
The Artistic Palette Studio, Eugene, OR, http://www.artistspalette.com/studio/
The Crafty Scrapper, Waxahachie, TX http://www.thecraftyscrapper.com/
The Doodlebug Inc, Jasper, IN, https://www.thedoodlebuginc.com/
The Ink Pad, New York, www.theinkpadnyc.com
The Queen's Ink Savage, Maryland www.queensink.com
Topflight Stamps, Irmo, South Carolina https://topflightstamps.com/
Seth Apter, New York www.sethapter.com
Stamp Fever, Orange, California www.stpstamp.com

Our brand is only available from established stockists who are VAT/ GST/ sales tax registered and for whom product education is a core principle. We would rather supply a few hand selected stockists, than the greater masses. If you would like to apply to be a stockist, you can find our more about our supply criteria here

PaperArtsy Links
Facebook Group (NEWPaperArtsy People
Facebook Page PaperArtsy


5 comments:

Helen said...

Just love those new greens! the storage spinner looks fab too

Miriam said...

I love these greens.... Fabulous!

A Pink said...

Gorgeous new Greens and fabulous tag samples . Loving those layers of gelli printing - so effect .
Such an amazing rainbow of fresco colours - drool! :)
x

Etsuko said...

Beautiful new greens--amazing tag samples. xx

Kate said...

On the second tag you say you used a Tracy Scott stamp but i don't recognise it and can't find it Id love to know the name of the set. Whole lot looks wonderful

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

About This Blog

Even though we've been blogging for quite some time only just figured out the followers button, so please follow us to hear about all that is new in the land of PaperArtsy. We'd love to share our ideas with you! Leandra

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ