Sunday, 4 October 2020

NEW PaperArtsy Products: Eclectica³ Gwen Lafleur {October 2020}

 Eclectica³ Collection {Gwen Lafleur}
October 2020 New Product Announcement


A note from Leandra:
Gwen has been an absolute whizz this year at creating unique classes for online consumption in conjunction with our stockists. She works so hard to generate classes laden with colour, techniques and wonderful ways to interpret her stamps, stencils and embossing products. I adore the creativity she exudes, and I'm sure this collection will be a wonderful addition to her stamp series.Those of you who know her Stencil Girl Line will recognise there are some elementS that chime with her last stencil release too! Perfect planning and alchemy!

If you want to purchase these stamps, many of our stockists have them available to pre-order now. We do not compete with our retailers, so if you want to get your hands on them, check out the list at the bottom of this post, or head over to PaperArtsy People to find a stockist near you. Check our Gwen's online teaching links at the foot of this post. She has been waiting for this 
announcement so the classes coming up using these stamps can be revealed!
 
(Please note we are about to start shipping from our new location in France. Many of our global retailers have orders almost ready for our new courier collection - you can expect these products to be landing with our retailers world-wide in the next 1-2 weeks. Watch out for pre-order options with them) 

Hi everyone, Gwen here. I'm super excited to share with you my newest release for PaperArtsy - 3 new hand-drawn stamp sets.

These new stamp collections are inspired by places, patterns, and textiles from around the world. Two are filled with traditional Suzani patterns and motifs from Uzbekistan and the other is all about Japanese patterns, many of which repeat. I love how these can be used on their own or together to create cards, background and collage papers, art journal spreads, and so much more. 

Let's check out these new stamps, some ideas from each set and a couple of projects.

  NEW STAMPS BY GWEN
Price: RRP €21.92 +VAT
Size:5" x 6" (13 x16.5cm)
All stamps are individually trimmed onto cling foam, presented in a clear hanging bag
with a laminated storage/index sheet.

  
Eclectica³ Gwen Lafleur Set 10 (EGL10)


I've long had a love of Japanese patterns and prints and found an antique Japanese pattern book that I used as my inspiration while drawing the designs for this set. I wanted patterns that could be used on their own or that would repeat to make backgrounds. One of my favorite things about how this collection came together is the way you can take most of the stamps and either repeat and / or mix and match them to make all kinds of patterns, which is what I did for the mixed media piece and coordinating card shown here. 


You can use the patterns on their own or combine them. For my samples I've created patchwork collages that use all eight of the designs in this set.


In this mixed media piece, I love how I was able to create a quick and easy and yet elegant piece by mixing patterns and colors and then accenting with the butterfly and one of the medallion stamps. Just a few metal corners and found objects bring it all together, but I really feel like the intricacy of the patterns brings a lot of depth and visual interest.


I used the same papers and techniques with the leftovers from my mixed media piece to make a very fast and easy card. I love how the detail of the patterns makes it look so complex when it really only took a few minutes to make.

Eclectica³ Gwen Lafleur Set 11 (EGL11)


EGL11 is the one I call my Suzani Flowers set and it's based on traditional Suzani embroidery designs from the many bedcovers, wall hangings, and other pieces I saw while I was traveling through Uzbekistan and neighboring countries two years ago. You'll need to get out your large acrylic block for this set as the main image measures about 4" wide and 5-1/4" tall. I've included four smaller floral motifs that are great when used on their own, but can also be repeated in different ways to make borders and backgrounds. I've also left plenty of open space so you can customize the designs with color if you desire.


You can see in the above mixed media collage that I've used all five stamps to create both backgrounds and collage papers as well as the focal floral image. I love the way the images repeat and how you can take the large focal image and use some or all of the design to get different looks (you can see how I took just some of the flowers to cut out and add as reinforcement to the main focal point.)


Once again, I used the same techniques and collage papers to make a coordinating card. I really like how the large floral stamp is the perfect size to use as the main image on cards and yet has so many smaller bits that you can easily pull out or repeat if you want to vary the way that you use it in your work.

Eclectica³ Gwen Lafleur Set 12 (EGL12)


EGL12 is the set that I call Suzani Motifs - as with the previous set, it's inspired by Suzani embroidery patterns but also includes many of the traditional medallion designs as well as a few more fun florals and a small repeating background design. 


I adore block printing and have recently become enamored with Arjak (or Arjakh) fabrics from India. There are beautiful floral designs and a lot of hand painting (or printing) in many of the fabrics so I took that as my inspiration for the projects with this set to create hand stamped and painted rice paper that I could use for the covers of a handbound book... I absolutely love how it came out!


Although I wouldn't describe myself as a bookbinder, I'm an artist who loves to make books and almost always make my own art journals and many of my sketchbooks and watercolor journals. For this project I wanted to make a Concertina book, which is a stitched binding that uses an accordion or Concertina fold as the binding strip. You make your folded binding strip and then stitch the signatures (bundles of pages) into that strip - usually in the valleys as I did here, but sometimes you can stitch them to the mountain folds for a really cool effect.

Here's the inside of the book so you can see how I used some of the other stamps to make the end papers and also get a better sense of what the binding looks like:


I love how these patterns echo the traditional stitched Suzani designs but at the same time they can have a bit of a block printed feel. And if you know me, you know how much I love both flowers and medallions, so this is definitely going to be a go-to set for me.


For my coordinating card I wanted to show how you can get a similar look without taking the time to completely paint all of the designs by just stamping in color on a painted background. I love how the repeated designs give this card a textile feel and yet once again, it only took about five minutes to make.


Project: Stamped & Collaged Artist Trading Cards (ATCs)


For today's project using all three of my new stamp collections I've made a set of Artist Trading Cards, or ATCs.


To start I painted the backgrounds of each card with a different color of PaperArtsy Fresco Acrylic Paint and then used the same colors to add contrasting blocks and shapes on top. Then I pulled out a bunch of my Archival Ink ink pads and used images from all three sets to stamp some all-over background patterns, leaving just a few areas clear.


Next I took some kraft colored packing tape and stuck a few pieces down on parchment paper and stamped on them using StazOn inks (the surface is a bit slick, so I wanted to use a solvent ink to make sure the designs would dry quickly and not smear.) I thought it would be fun to have some handmade paper tape to use on my ATCs.


From there I took my new paper tapes and some scraps of stamped paper left from other projects and collaged in a few spots on the background of each card.


Next I used some brighter and bolder colors to stamp larger images on top of the layers I'd built up thus far.


Almost done... I stamped my focal images on each card using black ink so that they would stand out from the background. Then as you can see below, to help them further stand out I used colored pencils to add color to the focal points.



That's it for today's new stamp introduction! I'm super excited about these new designs and I hope that you are as well. I can't wait to see what you all do with them! 

Socials...

Teaching Schedule:
17 October 2020, Papercraft Clubhouse, Registration TBA (Facebook Live class)
7 November 2020, Artistic Artifacts, Registration TBA (Facebook Live class)
5 December 2020, Artistic Artifacts, Registration TBA (Facebook Live class)
(Note that classes are still being finalized - an up to date list with links to registration once open can always be found on the workshops page of my website.)

PaperArtsy Stockist List

Many of our stockists worldwide have their physical stores impacted in different ways due to COVID-19. Please contact a stockist direct to find out if you can visit them. Many are also using FB Live Streams to share with you new product arrivals, and also offering a personal shopping service via video calls.

Here at PaperArtsy, we have recently relocated our business from England to the South-West of France. Our stockists are your go-to  source for all PaperArtsy products, and we suggest that you also use the PaperArtsy People Facebook group to source a stockist. Many are members and are share links to their online stores.

Australia
Bella Paperie, Brendale, Queensland, www.bellapaperie.net.au
Bev's Cross Crafts, Spreyton, Tasmania https://www.bevscrosscrafts.com.au/
Crafters Cupboard, Berwick, Victoria www.crafterscupboard.com.au
Memories on the Murray, Murray Bridge, SA  https://www.memoriesonthemurray.net/
Scrap Matrix, Port Elliot, South Australia http://scrapmatrix.com/
Scrapbook Superstore & More South Penrith, NSW https://www.scrapbooksuperstore.com.au/
The Scrapbooker's Confetti Box, Swansea,NSW https://thescrapbookersconfettibox.com/
The Thread Studio, 6 Smith Street, Perth http://www.thethreadstudio.com/
The Scrapbook Store, North Perth,WA http://thescrapbookstore.com.au/ 
Time To Create, Modanville, NSW www.timetocreate.com.au

Belgium
Cart N Scrap Art, Antwerp, cartnscrap@gmail.com
Cotrain, Kontich, www.cotrain.be
Expression Hobby, Marcinelle www.expressionhobby.be

Canada
Clipper Street Scrapbook Company, Langley, BC. www.clipperstreet.com
Paper Art Creations Inc, Leduc, Alberta, http://www.paperartcreations.com/
Scrapbook Centrale, Dollard Des Ormeaux, Quebec www.scrapbookcentrale.ca
Simply Scrapbooking, Prince George, BC https://www.facebook.com/simplyscrapbooking/
Scrap Addicts, Edmonton, Alberta https://www.scrapaddicts.ca/
Scrap and Bean, Edmonton, Alberta http://scrapandbean.com/ 
Scrapbooking Fairies, Drayton Valley, Alberta https://www.scrapbookingfairies.com/
The Paper & ink Boutique, Calgary, Alberta https://www.paperandinkboutique.com/
The Scrap Yard, Calgary, Alberta, https://www.thescrapyardcalgary.com/ 

Denmark
Hobbyboden Scrapworld Samso www.hobbyboden.dk

France
Eirl Bancon Cartoscrap, Midi Pyrenees, https://www.cartoscrap.com/blog/
Horizon Creatif, Ste Jalle h.creatif@gmail.com
Katzelkraft, Ingwiller http://www.katzelkraft.fr/en/
Kerglaz, Basse Goulaine, https://www.kerglaz.com/  
Kerudoc Creation, St Yvi www.kerudoccreation.com
Quartier Serre Teston, Ste Jalle, hcreatif@gmail.com
Scrap by Nini,  Uzerche, Limousin https://scrapbynini.fr/ 
Scrapo'naturel, Tourville La Riviere, www.scraponaturel.fr/livraison 
Toutencolle, Dun sur Avon www.toutencolle.fr

Germany
Paperbasics, Hessen, www.paperbasics.de
Stempelbar, Berlin, www.stempelbar.de
Stempeloase Munich, Munich www.stempeloase.de
Stempelfee Shop, Hilden www.stempelfee-shop.de
Stempellaedle, Stuttgart, www.stempellaedle.de/shop

Greece
Scraps N Pieces, Kallithea www.scrapsnpieces.gr

Italy
Immagine SAS di Rapaccini, Rome, www.immaginelab.com
Il Negozio Della Mamma Di Cle, Torino, clelia27@liberio.it
L'artistica Glo, Cinisello B (Mi), www.artisticaglo.it
Marte Savona, Savona, www.martesavona.it
Pezze E Colori, Lissone, http://www.pezzeecolori.it/
Piccole Passioni, Siena, www.piccolepassioni.it
Scrap it Easy, Rome, https://www.scrapiteasy.com/it/

Japan
Tiny Dots, Funabashi-shi, Chiba www.facebook.com/TinyDots

Netherlands
Doe@ding,Spijkenisse https://doeading.nl/
Hobbycompleet de Duif, Leeuwarden www.hobbycompleet.nl
Stampingcorner, Capelle Aan Den Ijssel www.stampingcorner.nl

Norway
Hobbygarasjen, Kopervik, www.Hobbygarasjen.no
Hobbykunst, Rasta, www.hobbykunst-norge.no
Scrapbookengros AS, Kleppe www.hobbylageret.no

Spain
Arts & Crafts, Barcelona, pebdesign@hotmail.es
Cien por Cien Manualidades, S.L., Bizkaia, Catalunya,  www.100x100manualidades.es
Endulze & Crista S.L, Pampalona, Navarra,  www.endulze.com
Ideas 10 Manualidades Y Scrapbook, Bilbao https://ideas10manualidades.com/
Marakiscrap, Tarragona, www.marakiscrap.com
MundoMint, Sabadell, Barcelona, www.mundomint.es
Scrap & Papers Experiences, Barcelona, Info@casonadequintana.com
Scraphouse S.L. Barcelona www.scraphouseshop.es
The Paradise Corner, Barcelona, www.facebook.com/theparadisecorner 

South Africa
Kcraft Imports Ltd, Centurion, www.kcraft.co.za
Stencil Art, Gauteng, www.stencil-art.co.za 

Sweden
Butik Elva, Staffanstorp, https://www.butikelva.se/
HC Design, Svedala, www.hcdesign.nu

Taiwan
Mandy's Cards, Taipei www.facebook.com/mandy.card

United Kingdom
A Trip Down Memory Lane, Ipswich, Suffolk, http://www.atripdownmemorylane.co.uk
Aldridge Crafts, Attleborough, Norfolk www.aldridgecrafts.co.uk
Amelia's Creative Crafts, Studley, Warwickshire  www.ameliascreativecrafts.co.uk
Art from the Heart, Harrogate, Yorkshire www.afth.co.uk
Blade Rubber Stamps, London www.bladerubberstamps.co.uk
Countryview Crafts, Potton, Bedfordshire www.countryviewcrafts.co.uk
Crafts at The Malthouse, Herstmonceux,  East Sussex, http://www.themalthouse.co.uk/
Craftrange, Burnley, Lancs, https://www.craftrange.com/
Fave Rave, Stourbridge, West Midlands www.shabbychicstencils.co.uk
Handmade at Helen's, Dumfries, Scotland, https://www.handmadeathelens.co.uk/
Hixxysoft, Frome, Somerset, https://www.hixxysoft.com/
Loobi Crafts, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, www.loobicrafts.co.uk
Papermaze, Ipswich, Suffolk www.papermaze.co.uk
Stampers Grove, Springbank, Lilliesleaf, Melrose,Scotland www.stampersgrove.co.uk
That's Crafty
, Romford, essex www.thatscrafty.co.uk
The Artistic Stamper Craft Store, Faversham, Kent www.theartisticstamper.com
The Crafty Cafe,
Rolleston-on-Dove, Staffs,
http://www.thecraftycafe.co.uk/
The Craft Room, Newcastle-Under-Lyme, Staffs https://www.garnersgardencentre.co.uk/crafts/
The Craft Studio, St Austell, Cornwall https://www.facebook.com/thecraftstudio/
The Forget me not Kraft Kabin www.TheForgetMeNotKraftKabin.co.uk


USA
Annie G Studio, Chula Vista, CA https://www.anniegstudio.com/
Art Anthology, Huntington Beach, CA http://artanthologyinc.com/
Artistic Artifacts, Alexandria, VA https://www.artisticartifacts.com/
Artistic Studio Creations, Fayetteville, Georgia www.facebook.com/ASCbyCrystal
Artistree Workshops, Fulton, New York, www.facebook.com/artistreeworkshops
Big Mouth Scrappers, Forney, Texas, https://www.bigmouthscrapperstx.com/ 
Craftiness, Chatsworth, CA, https://www.craftinessonline.com/
Creative Inkling, Hatnboro, PA https://www.creativeinkling.com/
Ephemera Paducah, Paducah, Kentucky www.ephemerapaducah.com
Everything Scrapbook & Stamps, Lake Worth, Florida www.everythingscrapbook.com
Frantic Stamper, Oregon www.franticstamper.com
Free Heart LLC, Denver, Colarado, http://www.freeheartllc.com/
Golden Hills PaperCrafts, Fairfax Station, Virginia, https://www.goldenshillpapercrafts.com/
Guadalupe's Fun Rubber Stamps, Santa Fe, New Mexico www.santafe.com
Joggles, West Warwick, Rhode Island, www.joggles.com
PaperCraft Clubhouse, Westbrook, Connecticut, http://papercraftclubhouse.com/
Paper Parachute Art Design Co., Beaverton, Oregon www.paperparachute.com
Runaway, Art & Craft Studio, NE Salem, Oregon http://www.runawayart.com/
Scrapbook N Memories, Harrisonville, Missouri, https://www.scrapbooknmemories.net/
Simon Says Stamp, Columbus, Ohio www. simonsaysstamp.com
The Artistic Palette Studio, Eugene, OR, http://www.artistspalette.com/studio/
The Crafty Scrapper, Waxahachie, TX http://www.thecraftyscrapper.com/
The Doodlebug Inc, Jasper, IN, https://www.thedoodlebuginc.com/
The Ink Pad, New York, www.theinkpadnyc.com
The Queen's Ink Savage, Maryland www.queensink.com
Topflight Stamps, Irmo, South Carolina https://topflightstamps.com/
Stamp Fever, Orange, California www.stpstamp.com
Valley Stamp & Scrap LLC, Neenah, Wisconsin, https://www.valleystampandscrap.com/

Our brand is only available from established stockists who are VAT/ GST/ sales tax registered and for whom product education is a core principle. We would rather supply a few hand selected stockists, than the greater masses. If you would like to apply to be a stockist, you can find our more about our supply criteria here

PaperArtsy Links
Facebook Group PaperArtsy People
Facebook Page PaperArtsy

 

4 comments:

Miriam said...

Congratulations Gwen.... Fabulous new release!

PaperArtsy said...

Beautiful stamps and samples, and your upcoming classes look wonderful again Gwen! Congratulations!

Hazel Agnew said...

Gorgeous stamps and the samples are stunning. Well done Gwen. X

A Pink said...

Congratulations! Gwen . Your new stamp designs are fabulous and your samples are all gorgeous . They showcase superbly the versatility and creative scope of your new release . Tfs and inspiring . x

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

About This Blog

Even though we've been blogging for quite some time only just figured out the followers button, so please follow us to hear about all that is new in the land of PaperArtsy. We'd love to share our ideas with you! Leandra

A View from PaperArtsy HQ

A View from PaperArtsy HQ